Skip to main content

Copyright Information: Using MRU Library's Electronic Materials

How to Determine the Terms of Use for MRU's Electronic Journals

Step 1

Find the article you need and note the name of the Journal in which it was published. In this example, an instructor wants to find the following article for use in a print course pack: Eisenhart, M. (1995), The Fax, the Jazz Player, and the Self-Story Teller: How Do People Organize Culture?. Anthropology Education Quarterly, 26: 3-26.

Step 2

The instructor must go to http://fz8yn6ap8y.search.serialssolutions.com/ejp/?libHash=FZ8YN6AP8Y#/?language=en-US&titleType=JOURNALS and type in the name of the Journal. This page can also be located from the MRU library's home page, by clicking on "Search & Find" and then selecting "Journals & ejournals".

Step 3

The instructor searches for Anthropology & Education Quarterly.

Step 4

The instructor is taken to a page showing the title of the journal and a list of databases to which MRU subscribes that contain the desired journal. Note that some databases may cover different time periods. In this case, MRU licenses the journal from 5 different databases.

Step 5

The instructor clicks on "Terms of Use".

Step 6

The page that opens lists what the instructor can do pursuant to each license for each database containing the journal.

For Wiley-Blackwell, all faculty, staff, onsite users, and students are permitted to:

  • Digitally Copy an article (i.e. download or save a digital copy), however the digital copy must be erased as soon as it's no longer needed, such as after the final exam or paper in the applicable course;
  • Photocopy or print out an article;
  • Post a hyperlink to an article (note that this is always the best practice, as there are no copyright implications); and
  • Reproduce the article for the purpose of a course pack (digital or hardcopy).

For JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV, however, the permitted uses are not as broad. Faculty, staff, onsite users, and students are permitted to:

  • Photocopy or print out an article;
  • Participate in scholarly sharing of the article; and
  • Post a hyperlink to an article (note that this is always the best practice, as there are no copyright implications).

However, the terms of this elicense prohibit anyone at MRU from doing the following:

  • Digitally copy an article (i.e. download and save the article);
  • Place the article on course reserve; and
  • Create a course pack containing the article, whether digital or electronic.

This example illustrates why it is so critical to check the terms of each elicense to ensure that you abide by those terms because the terms of elicenses trump the fair dealing exception under the Copyright Act.

Step 7

In this example, the instructor has now determined that he or she can use an article from the Wiley-Blackwell database for pretty much any use. Here, the instructor wants to include the article in a print course pack. Therefore, the instructor must now click through on the Wiley-Blackwell link and search for the article in that specific database so that the formatting on the printed article matches the cited source.

Step 8

The instructor is now taken to the database's search page.

Step 9

The instructor enters search terms to locate the article. In this case, the instructor uses a portion of the article's title, "The Fax, the Jazz Player, and the Self-Story Teller".

Step 10

The article comes up as the first result.

Step 11

The instructor can now click through and download a copy of the article to print up and include in the course pack.

If you have any further questions about how to check an elicense terms, please contact the Copyright Advisor at: MRUcopyright@mtroyal.ca or 403-440-6618.

Creating a Persistent Link to MRU Library's Electronic Resources

Persistent links are the safest and easiest way to share journal articles, book chapters and other online content with your students. Providing a link to one of MRU library's electronic resources is a copyright-friendly way to enable students to make use of an item for individual study. Just make sure that you open a new tab or window as your link's target. 

To build a persistent link on your Blackboard site, please visit the following website: http://library.mtroyal.ca/services/instructionsupport/buildapersistentlink

Streaming Video Through MRU Library's Electronic Resources

Mount Royal University Library offers 9 databases that allow you to stream videos in class:

  1. Campus (National Film Board) - The National Film Board CAMPUS offers hundreds of films including documentaries, interviews, animated films and more on their website. Users can create free accounts to create playlists and access teaching resources.
  2. CBC Curio and News in Review - Curio.ca provides streaming access to content from CBC and Radio-Canada including documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more. Also includes the News in Review channel covering 23 years of current-event series News in Review.
  3. Ethnographic Video Online: Volume 1 (North America) - A comprehensive anthropological resource containing over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. A valuable resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.
  4. Films on Demand - Contains over 6000 streaming videos in Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Science, Mathematics, Health, and Medicine. Licensed for classroom use.
  5. JoVE - Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology - This Science Education video collection demonstrates how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology. Each video shows practical applications of the techniques and other complementary skills.
  6. JoVE - General Laboratory Techniques - This premier collection exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions. Each video allows you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.
  7. Kanopy PDA - Canada - A collection of streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas.
  8. Universal Library - Provides access to downloadable video, audio, text, and multimedia in the public domain.
  9. Videatives (Early Education Videos) - More than 200 interactive videos on early childhood learning.

Have a copyright question?

If, after browsing this guide, you still have questions or require additional information please contact MRUcopyright@mtroyal.ca, or 403.440.6618.

The Copyright Advisor is also available in EL1132 for drop-in office hours:

  • Tues: 9:00 - 10:30 am
  • Thurs: 2:30 - 4:00 pm