Skip to main content

Banner

Borrowing

Find out more about what resources are available to you.

Borrowing from MRU Library

Students, Staff, and Faculty

Borrowing Material

Mount Royal University students, faculty and staff may borrow any item from the circulating collection - books, journals, magazines, DVDs, CDs and audiovisual equipment..

Accessing Material

  • Your OneCard is your library card.
  • Newspapers and reference materials may be used in-house only
  • Equipment, including laptops, are available to borrow at the Service Desk

Renewing Material

  • Material may be renewed online at your Library Account, by phone 403.440.6019, or in person at the Service Desk
    • Items may be renewed twice if there are no holds placed on them
    • Automatic renewals may be applied to main collection resources. If the item you borrowed isn’t requested by another user, the system may automatically extend your loan period (no more than twice). Renewal due dates can be found in your Library Account
    • Reserve and Media items must be renewed in person

Hold/Request an Item

Request, or place a "hold", on library items that are either loaned out to another borrower or available on the shelf. Holds may be placed the following ways:

  • Online, via the Library Account link in the library catalogue
  • In person at the Service Desk
  • Via telephone at 403.440.6019

Note: You can confirm your hold is available for pick-up at the Service Desk by logging into your Library Account

Community Borrower

Borrowing Material

  • 25 item limit from our General Collection
  • 3 week loan, with 2 online renewals

Accessing Material

Free MRU card by presenting photo identification and proof of Canadian address

  • Individuals under 18 years of age applying for a Community Borrower card will need their parent or guardian to sign our borrowing agreement form
  • MRU Library has an Interlibrary Loan program for copies of journal articles and book chapters from other libraries. For more information, restrictions, charges and to place requests, see ILL for Alumni & Community Borrowers

The Alberta Library (TAL) card

  • If you are member of another Alberta library you may request a TAL card from your library which will allow you to borrow from MRU library

COPPUL

  • Students, staff and faculty from participating University Libraries across Canada are eligible to borrow material from the Mount Royal Library.
  • You must have a reciprocal borrowing card from your own institution. See the Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement for more information on obtaining a card.
  • Interlibrary loan services are available to select members of universities from outside Calgary per the Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement (CURBA) – contact illacmr@mtroyal.ca for details and eligibility

Alumni

Borrowing Material

  • 25 item limit from the General Collection.
  • 3 week loan, with 2 online renewals.
  • Request copies of journal articles and book chapters from other libraries using our Interlibrary Loan service. For more information, restrictions, applicable charges and to place requests see ILL for Alumni and Community Borrowers.
  • Make use of specialized spaces and attend programming and workshops. Keep an eye on the Library program calendar.

Accessing Material

Your OneCard is your library card

Retiree

Borrowing Material

  • 25 item limit from the General Collection.
  • 3 week loan, with 2 online renewals.
  • Request copies of journal articles, book chapters and loans from other libraries via the ILL for Retirees page.
  • Make use of specialized spaces and attend programming and workshops. Keep an eye on the Library program calendar.

Accessing Material

Your OneCard is your library card

Borrowing from other Libraries

What can you do if MRU Library does NOT have the resource you need?

Canadian University Libraries - COPPUL Card

Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement

  • With a COPPUL card Mount Royal students can borrow materials from participating University libraries across Canada, including the University of Calgary, University of Alberta and University of Lethbridge.
  • In-person borrowing is the main privilege extended by the host institution
    • Host libraries may offer additional privileges or services
    • Please obtain information on the privileges available at individual host libraries prior to visiting those libraries.
  • Quebec Universities, the University of Toronto, and the Ontario College of Art and Design do not lend materials to Undergraduate Students from other provinces.
  • COPPUL cards are issued at the MRU Service Desk.
  • Student COPPUL cards expire at the end of the semester.

The Alberta Library (TAL) Card

  • With a TAL card , members of the Mount Royal Library can access materials from participating libraries, including Calgary Public Library, Alberta University of the Arts, and SAIT Library
  • TAL cards are issued at the MRU Service Desk.
  • To be eligible, your library account must be in good standing and you must be an MRU student, staff, faculty member or a community borrower.
  • Student TAL cards expire at the end of each semester; faculty, staff and community borrowers TAL cards expire annually.

Interlibrary Loan

Use our Interlibrary Loan service

Loans & Fines

Loan Periods

  • Books - semester loan
  • EAL Collection - varies, 1 week to 3 weeks
  • Reserve Collection - varies, 2 hours to 1 week
  • Interlibrary Loans - due date is set by the lending library
  • Videos/DVDs – 1 week
  • Laptops - 1 day or 3 days
  • Equipment - loan periods vary, please see Service Desk.

Fines

It is the borrower's responsibility to note the date and time materials are due. There are no overdue fines for our Main Collection. Fines are charged for overdue material for recalls, equipment, interlibrary loans, reserves, and all lost material.

  • Check My Account online for due dates and accumulated fines
  • Fines must be paid in person at the Library Service Desk. We accept cash, debit and credit.
  • More than $50 in fines/fees for 14 days will result in student accounts being forwarded to MRU Financial Services.
    • this may affect future registration or receipt on transcripts.

Food for Fines!

Every Tuesday bring non-perishable food donations to the Library Service Desk and we will reduce your fines by $5.00

Fine Amounts

  • Reserve Collection - $2 per hour/item to a maximum of $50
  • Interlibrary Loans (ILL) - $2 per day/item to a maximum of $50
  • Laptops - $5 per hour to a maximum of $50

For all other Equipment and a complete listing of all library material fines and fees, please review the Schedule of Fines and Fees.

Pay for fines and fees with cash, debit, Visa or MasterCard at the Service Desk

Renewals

Keep items longer and avoid potential fines by renewing checked out material before it becomes overdue. Items may be renewed online from your Library Account, by phone 403.440.6019, or in person at the Service Desk.

  • Items may be renewed twice if there are no holds placed on them
  • Reserve items and equipment must be renewed in person
  • Renewals of Interlibrary loan materials may be requested, by contacting illacmr@mtroyal.ca, but are not guaranteed. Renewals are at the discretion of the lending library

Lost Items

  • Items are assumed lost after 28 days
  • Item replacement cost and a $15 processing fee will be charged
  • Lost items that have been located must be returned directly to the Service Desk
  • If a lost item is located within one year replacement charges will be refunded. The processing fee and overdue fines will not be refunded

Interlibrary Loans (ILL)

Mount Royal University's Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery (ILL) staff provide access to library material not owned by MRU.

Libraries who would like to borrow materials from MRU can find more information on the Lending to other libraries page.

NEW! Log in with your MyMRU information. Notifications will be sent to your mtroyal.ca email.
Make an Interlibrary Loan Request

ILL service is available to current Mount Royal University students, faculty, staff, and emeritus.

MRU Retirees please place your requests via the ILL for Retirees page

Eligibility

MRU also offers a separate ILL service for Alumni and Community Borrowers. For more information, restrictions, applicable charges, and to place requests see:  ILL for Alumni & Community Borrowers

Placing Requests

Already have a citation and MRU doesn’t have the item

  • Place requests directly using the Interlibrary Loan Request form
  • Choose your request type: for copies choose Article or Book chapter, for all loaned items select Book, video, thesis
  • Enter the full citation details for your item, any request notes and a ‘cancel if not received by’ date if applicable, then agree to terms of use and click Submit

Found a citation while searching LibrarySearch

  • Scroll to the ‘How to get it’ section
  • Log in to your account (if you have not already done so)
  • Click the ‘Request interlibrary loan’ link
  • Fill in any missing citation information and request notes and a ‘cancel if not received by’ date if applicable, agree to terms of use, then click Submit

Found a citation while searching library databases (ie. Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ScienceDirect, etc.)

  • Click on the ‘Find full text’ or ‘Look for a copy’ link
  • If there is no ‘Find full text’ or ‘Look for a copy’ link, follow instructions above for ‘Already have a citation and MRU doesn’t have the item’
  • If MRU Library does not have access to the item, log in to your account (if you haven’t already done so) and click the link for ‘Request interlibrary loan'
  • Fill in any missing citation information and request notes and a ‘cancel if not received by’ date if applicable, agree to terms of use, then click Submit

Notifications and Delivery

  • All notifications will be sent to your MRU email account (@mtroyal.ca). Users will be notified by email when a request is placed and when the item arrives
    • Check your spam/junk folder if you do not receive any email confirmations and notifications
  • Delivery times can vary from two business days to over three weeks - allow sufficient time when placing requests
    • Delivery time depends on the type of request, shipping method, and many other factors
  • Copies of articles and book chapters are delivered electronically whenever possible - you will be emailed with a link to download the request. The link will be active for 5 downloads and 14 days; you are recommended to save or print a copy of the PDF
    • If license terms require a print copy to the end user, a pickup notice will be sent and the copy will be kept at the Library service desk for 1 month

Loans, Renewals and Returns

  • ​Pickup and return all ILL loaned items at the Library Service Desk
  • The due date is noted on the book band. Return the item on or before the due date as overdue fines do apply
  • Renewals are not automatic; we must ask the lending library if they will permit the renewal.  Allow 2 business days to communicate with the lending library. MRU ILL will pursue 1 renewal per request
  • A $5 fee will be charged for all physical items that are requested and not picked up by the item due date
  • See Loans and fines for more information

Copyright and Contact

  • Requests must follow the fair dealing exception of the Canadian Copyright regulations
  • Need help? Ask at the Library Service Desk or contact ILL staff: illacmr@mtroyal.ca or 403.440.6133

Interlibrary Loan Items

  • A $5 fee will be charged for all physical items that are requested and not picked up by the item's due date
    • This is to ensure fast and efficient Interlibrary loan (ILL) service for all users
    • $5 non-pickup fee is intended to reduce request handling for items no longer needed and to recoup some of the Library's costs for ILL
  • Email illacmr@mtroyal.ca to cancel a requested item that is no longer needed