Skip to main content Mount Royal University - Library
Library space is closed | Today's Hours:

Banner

About the Library

Mount Royal University Library is an integral part of the MRU experience, supporting deep learning and innovative teaching and scholarship. The Library fosters intellectual curiosity, creativity, and exploration, where people find new answers and develop new questions. The Library engages our diverse communities by sharing our expertise through a range of intriguing programs, excellent services, and rich information resources, in a welcoming, technology-enabled environment.

Tour the Library

Take yourself on a tour: Download a self-guided tour brochure or pick one up from the Service Desk!

Please contact the library through Courtney Montgomery, Outreach Lead, at cmmontgomery@mtroyal.ca to arrange for group tours of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre.

Strategic Plan

Mount Royal University Library:
Igniting exploration, learning, creation, and sharing.


1

Enhance outreach to MRU’s diverse communities through strategic marketing and community-tailored programming.

Increase awareness of the resources our communities can access at the MRU Library. These resources include: services, collections, personnel, and virtual and physical tools and spaces.

Gather information to deepen understanding of our user communities and use it to inform resource development.

Provide a welcoming environment to all users through services, programming and spaces, with particular focus on Indigenous and other growing communities

2

Evaluate and meet user needs through highly responsive and accessible services, adaptable spaces, and technological innovations.

Continually gather data from the Library, the University, and other pertinent communities to assess user needs, wish lists, and gaps, and use this evidence to inform decisions.

Develop an agile framework for measuring the impact and value of Library resources.

Educate and cross-educate staff to create a nimble Library team with user-focus as the primary driver.

Provide education and programming to enable users to make the most of all Library resources.

3

Enhance collaboration within our team and with our building partners to provide innovative and improved experiences to our users.

Create forums to celebrate the contributions, shared values, and diversity of our staff and Library users.

Put in place defined communication channels to address innovations and gaps in resources.

Develop opportunities for students as collaborators in library initiatives and assessment.

4

Increase the value and impact of the Library’s online presence as a critical teaching tool and a virtual destination of choice.

Ensure the Library’s website is a highly functional teaching and research tool for our users.

Ensure that our online presence provides beneficial, up-to-date information and resources to our users.

Ensure our online presence and electronic resources are compatible with our users’ expectations.

Make our virtual and physical spaces complementary, adding value to each.

5

Promote the Library as a knowledge catalyst, generating ideas, fostering connections, and combining expertise and information to create knowledge.

Ensure collections and instruction programs support students in their undergraduate research endeavours.

Coordinate with other campus partners to develop workshops and resources to support undergraduate and faculty research.

Ensure our collections and tools adapt to the changing needs of our communities.

Use new Library spaces to enable new ways of conducting research and scholarship.

Information Literacy

MRU Library is committed to face to face learning, community engagement and professorial excellence through the delivery of a robust information literacy (IL) curriculum. IL is:

"the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning."

MRU Library plays a vital role in our students' processes of discovery and contextualizing their own ideas in a meaningful way that contributes to scholarly discourse, civic participation, and professional practice. We support students by providing a space that values and prioritizes an inclusive, collaborative, and reflective learning environment.

Pedagogical Values Statement

We encourage critical engagement with the information environment to support student success and graduate engaged and informed citizens. Information production and use are informed by the sociocultural context in which we learn and work. Students are encouraged to engage in scholarly conversations with this context in mind.

Teaching & Learning Priorities at MRU Library

1

Student Engagement and Active Learning

MRU library faculty invite students to participate in meaningful activities that help them think critically about information and generate new ideas and knowledge. We create an environment that challenges students to learn through inquiry and collaboration. One of our goals is to help students understand how technology facilitates the information seeking process.

2

Inclusive learning

Library faculty are committed to inclusive and reflective teaching practices. We provide learning opportunities in the classroom, at the service desk, and through individual consultations in response to the research requirements of course assignments. We encourage students to consider different ways of knowing and learning and we support critical literacy in our classrooms. We design learning activities that help students explore different ways of identifying, evaluating, locating and ethically using a variety of information sources.

3

Collaboration

We aim to create collaborative learning environments where students are partners in knowledge creation. We collaborate with instructors to develop teaching and learning activities to contextualize information literacy instruction within disciplinary curricula.

4

Assessment and Development

We take an evidence-based approach to developing and assessing our teaching. Our work is informed by relevant scholarly literature in the fields of library science and education, established best practices, and peer feedback. Our information literacy instruction is aligned with class assignments and program objectives to support student success.

History

MRU Library Past and Future

  •  

    1972

    • Lincoln Park Campus opens including the Library.
    • Campus approach to instruction was based on the Leggett model. Library design was based on vast open concept with local Resource Islands providing support and resources for faculty and programs within “departments”.
  •  

    1972-76

    • Library’s open concept and honour system for borrowing becomes problematic and security gates are installed.
    • Media resources collection and services becomes part of the Library.
  •  

    1977-1979

    • Open concept design proves noisy and is renovated to create quiet study areas.
    • Library gets non-smoking area!
  •  

    1981

    • Heritage Fund grant was received dedicating $9 million dollars for collection improvement.
  •  

    1990-1992

    • Card catalogue dismantled and new online catalogue introduced (Multilis System).
    • Overdue fines introduced.
  •  

    1996

    • Library Resource Islands close.
    • Library Reserve collection implemented.
  •  

    2000

    • $1.6 million dollars received to strengthen collection in support of applied degrees.
  •  

    2001

    • Library relocated while major renovation begins. Library renovation was planned to address student growth and demand for the next five years.
  •  

    2003-2006

    • Library review identifies need to grow Library in terms of faculty and staff, as well as collections.
    • Library enhancements becomes Mount Royal College’s highest facilities priority and a focus point for the transition of Mount Royal College to Mount Royal University.
  •  

    2008

    • Provincial government provides $2.8 million in funds to plan new Library and Learning Centre.
  •  

    2009

    • Mount Royal College officially becomes Mount Royal University.
    • Additional investments are made to support Library collections for degree programs
    • Mount Royal celebrates Centennial.
    • Library takes on official responsibility for the University Archives.
  •  

    2010

    • Library spaces reorganized to address persistent noise issues.
    • Clay Riddell becomes named donor for the Riddell Library and Learning Centre.
    • Provincial Government provides support for construction of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre, with the ground breaking taking place that same year.
  •  

    2014-2016

    • Library restructuring and planning for new services and programs in Riddell Library and Learning Centre is started.
    • Building planning and design along with community consultation underway.
  •  

    2017

    • Construction is completed and Library moves into new Riddell Library Learning Centre on June 26 2017 for its soft launch.
    • New Library includes visualization spaces, a maker studio, audio production rooms, an immersion studio, new library classrooms, a special collections and archives area, 34 group rooms, quiet reading rooms and lots of student study space.
    • Other building partners – Academic Development Centre, Student Learning Services, Institute for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, and Department of Education – move in over the course of the summer.
    • September 7th 2017 Grand Opening!

Structure and Policies

Organizational Structure

The Library team is comprised of approximately 60 talented and dedicated individuals who share the common goals of enabling student success and providing excellent service. The team is made up of approximately 17 full-time equivalent faculty librarians, 37 full time equivalent staff members, six managers/administrators, along with a number of student casuals and part-time staff.

We support approximately 11,500 full and part-time students and approximately 2,500 faculty and staff, and have an important role to play in outreach and community engagement beyond the University.

The Library organizational structure helps define roles, responsibilities and accountabilities, while cross-functional teams, working groups and committees ensure an integrated, evidence-based, and strategic approach to projects, initiatives and the ongoing success of the Library.

Governance

The Library is a key unit within Academic Affairs and includes both faculty (librarians) and academic staff members, along with exempt and management members.

The Library Leadership Team comprised of the Library Chair, the Associate Dean, University Library, Public Services, the Associate Dean, University Library, Collections and Digital Services, and the Library Operations Officer, which provides advice to the Dean, University Library and works together to provide strategic leadership for the Library.

The Dean, University Library reports to the Provost and Vice-President Academic and is a key member of Dean’s Council, as well as other key institutional and academic bodies. The Dean, University Library also serves on the General Faculties Council along with Library faculty (librarian) representatives.

The Library Faculty Council, including standing and subcommittees such as the Library Scholarship Standing Committee, the Library Faculty Curriculum Committee, Roles and Responsibilities Committee, etc. provides oversight and guidance on academic decision making matters.

The Library Standing Committee of the General Faculties Council (GFC) includes elected GFC Counsellors from across all faculties. This body provides advice and input to the Library regarding faculty academic needs and matters.

The Library has a Student Library Advisory Committee which provides a valuable venue for students to provide input, advice and suggestions on matters related to Library operations and services. All interested students are welcome to join these meetings which are held a couple of times each term.

The Library also employs a number of internal committees, working groups, and teams to ensure successful operations and achievement of its vision and strategic plan priorities.

Policies

Using the library/resources

Collection development

Privacy

FOIP Notification Statement - Library Services Notice

The personal information that you provide to Mount Royal University is collected under the authority of the Post-Secondary Learning Act and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIP) Act (Alberta) – section 33(c). The information will be used to provide Library Services to patrons. Collected personal information can be reviewed subject to the provisions under the Act.

Questions regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personal information can be directed to:

Administrative Assistant to the Dean, University Library
Mount Royal University
4825 Mount Royal Gate SW
Calgary, AB  T3E 6K6
403.440.6124
bball@mtroyal.ca

Copyright

This website is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license. However, this website also contains copyright protected works owned by third parties. Such third-party works are not covered by the CC license. If you wish to use or reproduce such third party works, you must contact the copyright owner for permission.