MRU Library Website: Business: MGMT 3230

Develop your search

Trying different keywords and using synonyms is important when searching. Student Learning Services can assist you with developing a theses statement. Depending on your topic, useful words to include in searches may be: trends, issues, challenges, impact, developments, effect, success, ... Every topic can be searched a number of ways:

"international court of justice" whaling antarctic
icj whales japan

nafta automobiles
nafta automobiles (challenges OR issues OR impact)

nafta canada smes
canada nafta (smes OR "small business")

The above searches will also work on Google and Google news. Below are three different ways to search MRU library resources:

I. Search every database at once

This is the same search box that is on the Library homepage. Once you've done a search, you can change the type of your results by clicking the filters on the right.

Check off Peer-Reviewed Journals under the Availability filter to find scholarly articles. Select Available online to retrieve full-text articles.
Check off Articles under the Resource Type filter to just see both popular and scholarly resources.
Limit by publication date by using the Creation Date filter
Use the Advanced Search link to open an advanced search box for more precise searching

II. Google Scholar

Google Scholar - Search scholarly literature across within MRU and around the world.

The Advanced Search is found by clicking the down arrow in the search box.
If you find one good article make sure to click Cited by and Related articles below its summary.
Does not include magazines or trade publications. Besides providing links to articles in MRU databases, Google Scholar links to online repositories which contain articles the author has been allowed to upload. Academia.edu and ResearchGate are among the repositories searched by Google Scholar.
To set up off-campus follow Settings --> Library Links.

III. Subject-specific databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, country and industry reports, and downloadable data in business and economics.
Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles, covering business management, economics, banking, finance, accounting.

_{Harvard Business Review restricts the use of their 500 most popular articles in EBSCOhost. The full-text of these articles is ‘read only’ and cannot be printed, downloaded or linked to. LibrarySearch links will not navigate to the full-text but these articles can be accessed for personal use by searching within Business Source Complete.}
Access to this resource is funded by Alberta Advanced Education through the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Covers corrections, administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all SAGE journals, a multidisciplinary journal package containing over 900 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of research literature with links to full text resources available from MRU. Records with references go back to 1996, pre-1996 records go back to 1884.

Check databases within each of the Library's main subject areas via the Find Resources link.

Manage and cite your research

There are a number of free citation managers that help with saving research. Two of the more popular are:

Mendeley www.mendeley.com
Very useful if your research is mainly pdfs. It is recommended to get both the desktop and browser versions. You can drag-and-drop pdfs into the desktop version which also has a Word plugin that will automatically insert in-text citations and create a bibliography. The browser version has a web importer that allows you to import web pages. "Sync" the desktop and browser versions to access Mendeley anywhere in the world. Files and folders can be shared with other users. The desktop version is installed on most MRU lab & library computers. Create a "Group" to share research.

Zotero www.zotero.org
Useful if much of your research is in html format. Has most of the same features as Mendeley.