Skip to main content

What is PubMed?

PubMed is a freely available database of medical literature. It contains references from over 5000 journals from around the world.

PubMed contains all of the references listed in Medline, which libraries pay to access.

How do I use PubMed to find articles?

There are two ways to search PubMed. One is to search each Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) individually (see the link below). You can also search using keywords. There is no need to type AND between search terms - PubMed will add it automatically.

What about Google Scholar?

Google Scholar can be useful in generating ideas around search terms, but is not a complete replacement for a PubMed search when it comes to health research. It is unclear which journals are included in Google Scholar and how far back it goes.

Google Scholar is very useful in tracking down the full text of articles cited in other works. Search for the title of the article in the search box below, and if Mount Royal subscribes to the journal, a link to the full text will be provided. If full text is not available, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan below.

Google Scholar Search

Requesting Articles through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a free service which provides you with access to sources that MRU does not own. If we do not have the full text of an article you wish to read, you can request a copy using the links below. Typically, it takes 2-3 business days for an article to arrive (you will receive an email notification when it is ready for pickup).

Are all articles created equal?

When choosing the three articles you would like to write about for your term paper, here are some things to consider:

- What journal did the article appear in? Is it a major journal in the field, and who is its audience? You can find some of this information on the journal's website.

- Have the lead authors written extensively on this topic, or is this their first published work?

- Is the article reporting original research, or simply summarizing what has already been published (a review article)? Review articles may provide helpful contextual information or lead you to original research studies, but should not be one of the three articles you focus on for this assignment.

But what about qualitative articles?

This assignment asks you to find articles on topics relating to reproductive physiology. As qualitative studies do not test or measure physiologic functions or phenomena, they will not be appropriate for this particular assignment. However, qualitative studies might provide appropriate evidence in other assignments about how individuals interpret, perceive, or understand particular conditions.

Cari Merkley's picture
Cari Merkley

Contact:
Email: cmerkley@mtroyal.ca
Phone: 403.440.5068
Office: EL4423U