You have been asked to complete a Library Assignment following the live session, due February 12

• You are required to find two scholarly sources that will be useful for your research paper due at the end of the term
• You can choose from a list of topics provided, or choose your own with instructor approval as long as it aligns with the theme of the course (Images and Identity)
• You have to include a correct Works Cited page entry for each source following MLA guidelines.  Below each entry, include information about the following: 
  • Author credentials
  • Briefly explain how this is a suitable source
  • How is the source relevant to your chosen topic? 

Is this your first library session?

Have you chosen a topic? 

A scholarly publication contains articles written by experts in a particular field. The primary audience of these articles is other experts. ... Many of these publications are also referred to as "peer-reviewed", academic or "refereed". They all mean essentially the same thing and refer to the editorial and publication process in which scholars in the same field review the research and findings before the article is published.

1. What are the author’s credentials? Is it written by an expert?
2. Published in a journal (is there a DOI?) If you are not sure if it is a journal article enter the title of the publication into Ulrichs Web
3. Academic language
4. Includes reference list
5. Length
6. A "Received" and "Accepted" date
7. Is it an actual article? Sometimes other types of content are included in scholarly publications, such as editorials/opinion pieces and book reviews.  Make sure you are looking at an article. 

Encyclopedias 

Strengths: short, contains background information on a topic, normally a great starting point when you are just learning about a topic and defining terms.

Weaknesses: too short, print encyclopedias are out of date quickly, Wikipedia has reliability issues

Books

Strengths: Provides an in-depth investigation into a topic

Weaknesses: too long, sometimes hard to tell whether it is scholarly

Media Sources (news, online magazine articles)

Strengths: Good for current information

Weaknesses: Sometimes biased, sometimes written to entertain, often not written by experts

Websites & Social Media

Strengths: Highly accessible, includes government info

Weaknesses: It is hard to assess credibility and reliability...anyone can post online or create a website

Scholarly Journal Articles

Strengths: often based on research findings or extensive review, written by experts, reviewed by experts, provides evidence, good for finding case studies.

Weaknesses: Sometimes written using discipline-specific language or terminology, hard to understand, 

Knowing the author’s background is important in deciding how reliable or biased a book might be.

• Has the author written on this topic before?
• Does their background indicate expertise or bias?
• What is their educational and employment background?

Look within the publication

In books, sometimes, there is an "About the Author" page, usually at the beginning or the end of the publication:

(***there is something fishy about this article though...can you spot why you wouldn't use it as a scholarly source?)

Look them up on the web. Use the Goog!  Scholars often have Academia.edu profiles, profile pages within their departments or LinkedIn pages....but also be aware of unreliable or out of date information.

Take a look at the following (you don't have to read the entire document) and try to evaluate whether it is scholarly/peer-reviewed or not scholarly.  Dr. Willekes has specifically asked you to choose suitable, scholarly articles and books for your assignment.  Ask yourself would you use the following examples as a source for your assignment? Was it created for the scholarly community?  Consider the credibility of the source (who wrote it, and for what purpose?) and relevance to the topic.

Source 1

Source 2

Source 3

Source 4

Source 5

Source 6

• There are so many types of information available to us.  It is important to be able to recognize what types of information sources are best suited for our information needs.  For your course work, your instructor has asked you to consider scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. This will elevate the accuracy and authority of your own work. 
• When you are considering academic sources for this project, you are likely to find them in the form of peer-reviewed/scholarly encyclopedias,  scholarly articles, and scholarly books. 

Questions to consider

• Are you using the terminology that an expert in the field would use?
• Is there more than one way to spell the word?
• Are there any synonyms or other terms that could apply to your topic?

 **Please note that with the campus closure, the library is also closed with the exception of a select few study spaces and a computer lab that is accessible by card on the 1st floor.  You can request print material and other physical items in advance and pick them up curbside.  

Things to remember when using Library Search:

1. Sign in to save searches, items, and to request materials.

2. Use the pin icon to save books and articles. 

3. Use the filters on the right. You will use Availability, Resource Type, and Date filters most often.

4. Some items won't be available. You can request unavailable items using interlibrary loan.

5. When viewing an item record, scroll down to the Get It or Full Text section to get the item.

You can search in a way to combine or omit different terms by telling the search engine exactly what you want…this can help you save some time (and frustration!)

• Use quotation marks to keep phrases together - "Black Lives Matter"

• Use  AND to combine search terms - "police violence" AND protester

• Use OR to connect two or more similar terms - BLM OR "Black Lives Matter"

• Use wild cards to substitute a letter or suffix with a symbol - demonstr*

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another great way to find peer-reviewed/scholarly material. Google scholar has a nifty citation chaining function.  The Cited by function will forward you to indexed scholarly material that has cited an article that you may be interested in.  The Related Articles link will direct you to similar articles that may have the same metadata or keywords. 

The Advanced Search is found by clicking the menu icon (top left).
Besides providing links to articles in MRU databases, Google Scholar links to online repositories that contain articles the author has been allowed to upload.  Academia.edu and ResearchGate are among the repositories searched by Google Scholar.

By clicking on the Settings icon, you can select library links to show library access for up to 5 libraries (type in Mount Royal and click on save).  If you are logged into MRU library, links should automatically populate if you are running a Google search in another window. 
 

Note: Google uses different commands: ~; -; +; but AND/OR also works

If you are searching Google (not Google Scholar), you can also limit your search to show specific websites. Eg:

• site:un.org (United Nations)
• site:unicef.org (United Nations Children's Fund)
• site:en.unesco.org (UNESCO)
• site:worldbank.org (World Bank)
• site:wto.org (World Trade Organization)

Image Collection - Contains images from Archive Photos, Canadian Press, Motion Picture & Television Archive, and MapQuest as well as a variety of images from the public domain.

Artstor -  ARTstor is a digital library of nearly 1,000,000 images with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Oxford Art Online - Provides access to more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images.

Bridgeman Images -  The Bridgeman Art Library works with museums art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. It represents a large part of the complete collection chosen for its suitability for web use. Over 17000 individual works of art are featured here cross-referenced and linked using Bridgeman's own categories.

Images on the Web

Flickr Creative Commons Creative Commons licensing offers an alternative to full copyright. Search the collection of Flickr images that have been offered for use with CC licenses.

Wikimedia Commons Search freely usable media files.

Pexels Stock photos

Tineye Searches for images that match an uploaded file or another image on the web - great for tracing original creators of images, rights holders, or just finding more information.

Google Images Search Great for finding high-profile images. Note that you will need to consult the Terms of Use/Terms & Conditions of the websites before copying any images.

Archival Collections

Glenbow Museum & Archives Search the photographs collection in the Archives.

Alberta on Record Search for digital material in the Archives Society of Alberta’s online portal.

Library & Archives Canada Image Search Search for photographs, drawings, maps and art.

• Cite Sources: Learn the correct way to cite sources by using these guides, tutorials, and videos.
• Referencing Webinars: APA & MLA. Referencing Webinars are 75 minutes long.  Registration is required.
• Online Appointments: Personalized online 30-minute appointments with a Learning Strategist.

If anyone has any specific questions about how to cite your sources during the session, you can paste the link here and I can help you.  Also, we can collaborate on general questions about your topic, or I can link to sources or help with search terms to support your topic.  Remember: you can always make a one on one appointment or email me as well, but sometimes it helps others to share questions!

Shared Citation Document

If anyone has any specific questions about how to cite your sources during the session, you can paste the link here and I can help you.  Also, we can collaborate on general questions about your topic, or I can link to sources or help with search terms to support your topic.  Remember: you can always make a one on one appointment or email me as well, but sometimes it helps others to share questions!

Shared Citation Document