Recommended Databases

Types:
Full-Text Articles
Newspapers and Magazines
Vendors:
Proquest
Key business and economics journals, and country and/or industry focused reports, and downloadable data.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

  • Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library
Alternate Name(s):EBSCO Academic Search Complete, Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library
Types:
Full-Text Articles
Newspapers and Magazines
Vendors:
EBSCO
Journal and magazine articles across a broad range of subject areas.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Not Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

More Info
EBSCO permalink help link

Access to this resource is funded by Alberta Advanced Education through the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library.

Consortia:
TAL
Alternate Name(s):Academic Video Online: Premium Canada
Types:
Streaming Media
Vendors:
Proquest

Streaming video spanning a wide range of subject areas. A comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription. 

Public Performance Rights: Films include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Not Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

More Info

New content highlights. 
AVON Tutorials
AVON Link and Embed Best Practices
 

Types:
Images
Vendors:
JSTOR
ARTstor is a digital library of images with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage No

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Not Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Not Allowed

Data Mining Not Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Not Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Alternate Name(s):Audio Cine Films Streaming
Types:
Streaming Media
Vendors:
Audio Cine Films
ACF streaming consists of recent and popular films from studios such as Universal Studios Canada, Sony Pictures, MGM Studios, VVS Films, and Lionsgate Films.

Screenings: Showing of films for any student related purpose (including student clubs) is permissible. The following limitations apply: No outdoor viewings. Event must be free of charge (no entrance fees) and advertised only on campus. Pre-releases are not included.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Concurrent User Limit No

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

  • Canadian Content
Types:
Streaming Media
Vendors:
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)
CBC and Radio-Canada content, including documentaries, news, tv and radio programs, podcasts, archival material and more. Content in English and French, includes teacher guides. Also includes content from BBC and National Geographic.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Yes

Scholarly Sharing No

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

  • Canadian Content
Alternate Name(s):Gale OneFile
Types:
Full-Text Articles
Vendors:
Gale

Full-text access to hundreds of periodicals from 1983 onwards. Topics including current events, health, technology, arts, history, literature, culture, and business, with a focus on both academic and mainstream titles.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Not Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Types:
Encyclopedias and Other Reference

An online reference library comprised of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, etc.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

More Info

Searching Tips

Credo Permalink Help
 

Alternate Name(s):COD, Criterion
Types:
Streaming Media
Vendors:
InfoBase
Educationally relevant feature films, includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Fair Dealing Usage Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Not Allowed

Concurrent User Limit No

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

  • Canadian Content
Alternate Name(s):DeGruyter
Types:
Ebooks
Vendors:
De Gruyter
University Press eBook collections from Canada and universities from around the world, available on the De Gruyter platform. Over 6000 titles in a range of disciplines.

Concurrent User Limit No

More Info
The majority of texts are in English with a significant number also in German.
  • Open Access
Alternate Name(s):DOAB
Types:
Ebooks
Open Access
Vendors:
DOAB Foundation

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.

  • Open Access
Types:
Full-Text Articles
Open Access
Vendors:
DOAB Foundation

A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals across many disciplines and subjects.

Alternate Name(s):Proquest Ebook Central - Academic Complete
Types:
Ebooks
Vendors:
Proquest
A collection of scholarly ebooks offering coverage of key academic subject areas. This is a subscription package with unlimited simultaneous user access.
Alternate Name(s):Nursing Video Collection
Types:
Streaming Media
Vendors:
InfoBase
Contains streaming videos in Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Science, Mathematics, Health, and Medicine. Licensed for classroom use.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Not Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Alternate Name(s):Gale Virtual Reference Library
Types:
Encyclopedias and Other Reference
Vendors:
Gale
A collection of electronic reference books, encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. This is a perpetual package with unlimited simultaneous user access.
Alternate Name(s):Ithaka
Types:
Ebooks
Full-Text Articles
Primary Source Documents
Vendors:
JSTOR
A large digital library of academic journals, ebooks and primary sources. Includes content across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage No

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

More Info
Note: Use the JSTOR platform for access to Primary Source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, and Global Plants and are not available for inclusion in LibrarySearch.

Find out more about indexing of these resources: https://support-jstor-org.libproxy.mtroyal.ca/hc/en-us/articles/5322416293399-JSTOR-ProQuest-Ex-Libris-Discovery-Resources
Alternate Name(s):NFB CAMPUS
Types:
Streaming Media
Films across disciplines including documentaries, interviews, animated films and more on their website.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Yes

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Yes

Course Pack Print Yes

Scholarly Sharing Not Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Yes

Data Mining Yes

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission No

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Types:
Full-Text Articles
Vendors:
Oxford University Press
Includes academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Types:
Encyclopedias and Other Reference
Vendors:
Oxford University Press
Cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Yes

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Yes

Course Pack Print Yes

Secure Learning Management System Yes

Data Mining No

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission No

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

More Info
Includes subscription titles via Oxford Reference Online Premium subscription collection as well as access to individual reference titles purchased perpetually.
Alternate Name(s):SRMO; Research Methods Online
Types:
Data and Statistics
Encyclopedias and Other Reference
Streaming Media
Vendors:
Sage
Research methods instruction and training tool, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Includes research methods cases, downloadable teaching datasets & video tutorials.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage Yes

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Types:
Full-Text Articles
Indexes and Abstracts
Vendors:
Elsevier
A large abstract and citation database of research literature with links to full text resources available from MRU. Records with references go back to 1996, pre-1996 records go back to 1884.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage No

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Not Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Allowed

Data Mining Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

Alternate Name(s):T&F, EBA
Types:
Ebooks
Vendors:
Taylor & Francis (including Routledge & CRC Press)
Taylor & Francis eBooks hosts an extensive collection of online research within a single destination. The platform features eBooks across all disciplines, including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities, and social sciences.

Authorized Users Students, employees & users physically onsite

Walk-In User Allowed

Fair Dealing Usage No

Class Handouts Allowed

Course Pack Print Not Allowed

Scholarly Sharing Not Allowed

Secure Learning Management System Not Allowed

Data Mining Not Allowed

ILL Secure Electronic Transmission Allowed

Find out more What do these permitted uses mean? ( Instructions This link opens in a new window )

title
Loading...