Search & Find - Our Collections
Archives and Special Collections
Search the holdings of the Archives and Special Collections via the search box, or browse them here. Not all records are available in the search at this time; if you don’t find what you’re looking for please contact us.
New to archival research? Check out the Archives Research Guide to get you started.
The Archives and Special Collections holds records and publications relating to the history of Mount Royal University, as well as other teaching and research collections that support curriculum and courses. Holdings include:
- textual records (such as correspondence, diaries, reports, and meeting minutes)
- audio and video recordings
- maps and architectural drawings
- publications including rare books, university yearbooks, academic calendars, and campus newspapers
Anyone can visit and use the Archives and Special Collections in EL4330 on the fourth floor of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre. The Archives is open Monday to Friday - please check the Library Calendar for current hours. Appointments are not required, but you can contact us in advance with your research question or requests to help us prepare for your visit.
For more information about access procedures and how to handle archival records, please see the Access Guidelines.
Archives Instruction Program
The Archives and Special Collections offers archival literacy sessions (part of the Library’s information literacy program) that allow instructors to bring their students to the Reading Room to learn about archival research. Course instructors should contact Peter Houston, the Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, who will work with them to identify learning outcomes, and to design and deliver archives sessions suitable for their classes.
As part of the Mount Royal University Library, the Archives and Special Collections serves the University’s diverse communities and is open to all. The mandate of the Archives and Special Collections is to support teaching, learning, and scholarship through the development of archival holdings and specialized library collections.
The Archives and Special Collections selectively acquires archival records and publications that support teaching and research, or that relate to the history of Mount Royal University. Please see the Acquisition Guidelines for more information about what the Archives seeks to acquire.
If you are interested in donating records or publications to the Archives, please contact Peter Houston, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org or (403) 440-5197.
Mount Royal University Archives and Special Collections
EL4330, Riddell Library + Learning Centre
4825 Mount Royal Gate SW
Calgary, AB T3E 6K6