Skip to main content

Archives Search

Archives and Special Collections

Browse Collections | Advanced Search

Collections

The Archives and Special Collections holds archival records and publications relating to the history of Mount Royal University, as well as other collections that support teaching and research. Collections include:

Textual records: diaries, reports, correspondence, meeting minutes, and more

Photographs

Audio and video recordings

Maps and architectural drawings

Publications: rare books, yearbooks, academic calendars and campus newspapers

Access

Collections can be accessed during open hours in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room in EL4330 in the Riddell Library and Learning Centre. Appointments are not required, but you can contact us in advance to help us prepare for your visit.

Please visit our Archival Research Guide to learn more about archival records and how to search and use them.

For more information about accessing and handling collections, please see our Access Guidelines.

 

Recent Highlights

Loading ...

Contact the Archives

Submit your questions and we will get back to you shortly. You can also call us at 403.440.7046 or visit us in EL4330 on the fourth floor of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre.

Hours

Archival Instruction

As part of the Library's information literacy instruction program, archival literacy sessions are offered in which classes can visit the Archives and Special Collections to learn about primary source research and to work with collections. Sessions can be fully customized to integrate with curriculum and to support course learning outcomes. Please contact Peter Houston, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, to learn more.

Donations

The Archives and Special Collections selectively acquires archival records and publications that support teaching and research, or that relate to the history of Mount Royal University. Please see the Acquisition Guidelines for more information about what the Archives seeks to acquire.

If you are interested in donating records or publications to the Archives, please contact Peter Houston, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian.

Mandate

As part of the Mount Royal University Library, the Archives and Special Collections serves the University’s diverse communities and is open to all. The mandate of the Archives and Special Collections is to support teaching, learning, and scholarship through the development of archival holdings and specialized library collections. 

Peter Houston's picture
Peter Houston

Contact:
Archivist and Special Collections Librarian
Email: phouston@mtroyal.ca
Phone: 403.440.5197