About the Library
Mount Royal University Library is an integral part of the MRU experience, supporting deep learning and innovative teaching and scholarship. The Library fosters intellectual curiosity, creativity, and exploration, where people find new answers and develop new questions. The Library engages our diverse communities by sharing our expertise through a range of intriguing programs, excellent services, and rich information resources, in a welcoming, technology-enabled environment.
Mount Royal University Library: igniting discovery, learning, creation and collaboration.
Mount Royal University Library fosters intellectual curiosity and exploration by empowering and supporting users to find, evaluate, create and share information.
Offering innovative programs and teaching, responsive services, inspiring spaces and rich information resources, the Library is a catalyst for research, learning and community-building on campus.
Mount Royal University Library’s approach is rooted in evidence-based decision making through continuous learning and ongoing assessment of our initiatives and services. Acknowledging the historical exclusion of voices, perspectives and knowledge in libraries, we commit to Indigenous reconciliation, diversity, equity, justice and inclusion in our work.
Meet user information needs through responsive and accessible services, supports and spaces.
- Provide access to expertise and resources that facilitate information discovery and sharing.
- Continually identify, adapt and review library practices to reduce barriers to access.
- Ensure spaces and services are welcoming and reflective of the communities we serve.
- Evaluate, maintain and renew library resources, approaches and technologies.
- Cultivate continuous learning, training and collaboration amongst our team.
Build capacity for research, information literacy, knowledge creation and sharing.
- Provide and maintain collections, tools, technologies and expertise that support the discovery and creation of knowledge and are responsive to the teaching, learning and research needs of the MRU community.
- Develop and deliver programs of teaching that prepare students to critically engage with, question, evaluate and share information.
- Provide responsive virtual and physical library spaces that enhance teaching and learning.
- Increase the Library’s ability to support researchers throughout the scholarly process.
- Support knowledge dissemination in a range of formats.
- Educate and advocate for open, equitable and ethical information practices.
Enhance outreach and strengthen relationships with diverse communities.
- Deepen our understanding of user communities to inform the Library’s approach to communication and engagement.
- Ensure library employees have access to justice, equity, diversity and inclusion training to build capacity for connection.
- Provide space, programming, and events that facilitate connection and information sharing in virtual and physical library spaces.
- Celebrate diverse perspectives and contributions of library users and employees.
- Seek and identify opportunities for collaboration and connection with students and other community stakeholders.
It’s been a year of growth and change for Mount Royal University Library, as we continue to respond to an ever-changing information landscape, both on campus and beyond. Here, we share some examples of the ways that spaces have been leveraged, along with teaching, expertise, and resources, to support the initiatives, scholarship, and teaching across campus that we have always done as a Library.
MRU Library Past and Future
- Lincoln Park Campus opens including the Library.
- Campus approach to instruction was based on the Leggett model. Library design was based on vast open concept with local Resource Islands providing support and resources for faculty and programs within “departments”.
- Library’s open concept and honour system for borrowing becomes problematic and security gates are installed.
- Media resources collection and services becomes part of the Library.
- Open concept design proves noisy and is renovated to create quiet study areas.
- Library gets non-smoking area!
- Heritage Fund grant was received dedicating $9 million dollars for collection improvement.
- Card catalogue dismantled and new online catalogue introduced (Multilis System).
- Overdue fines introduced.
- Library Resource Islands close.
- Library Reserve collection implemented.
- $1.6 million dollars received to strengthen collection in support of applied degrees.
- Library relocated while major renovation begins. Library renovation was planned to address student growth and demand for the next five years.
- Library review identifies need to grow Library in terms of faculty and staff, as well as collections.
- Library enhancements becomes Mount Royal College’s highest facilities priority and a focus point for the transition of Mount Royal College to Mount Royal University.
- Provincial government provides $2.8 million in funds to plan new Library and Learning Centre.
- Mount Royal College officially becomes Mount Royal University.
- Additional investments are made to support Library collections for degree programs
- Mount Royal celebrates Centennial.
- Library takes on official responsibility for the University Archives.
- Library spaces reorganized to address persistent noise issues.
- Clay Riddell becomes named donor for the Riddell Library and Learning Centre.
- Provincial Government provides support for construction of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre, with the ground breaking taking place that same year.
- Library restructuring and planning for new services and programs in Riddell Library and Learning Centre is started.
- Building planning and design along with community consultation underway.
- Construction is completed and Library moves into new Riddell Library Learning Centre on June 26 2017 for its soft launch.
- New Library includes visualization spaces, a maker studio, audio production rooms, an immersion studio, new library classrooms, a special collections and archives area, 34 group rooms, quiet reading rooms and lots of student study space.
- Other building partners – Academic Development Centre, Student Learning Services, Institute for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, and Department of Education – move in over the course of the summer.
- September 7th 2017 Grand Opening!
The Library team is comprised of approximately 60 talented and dedicated individuals who share the common goals of enabling student success and providing excellent service. The team is made up of approximately 17 full-time equivalent faculty librarians, 37 full time equivalent staff members, six managers/administrators, along with a number of student casuals and part-time staff.
We support approximately 11,500 full and part-time students and approximately 2,500 faculty and staff, and have an important role to play in outreach and community engagement beyond the University.
The Library organizational structure helps define roles, responsibilities and accountabilities, while cross-functional teams, working groups and committees ensure an integrated, evidence-based, and strategic approach to projects, initiatives and the ongoing success of the Library.
The Library is a faculty within Academic Affairs and includes faculty members, MRSA staff, and exempt and management members.
The Library Dean's Advisory Group (DAG) is comprised of the Associate Deans; the Library Chair; the Director, Library Technology; the Library Operations Officer; the Head, User Services and Engagement, and the Head of Collections and Content. The DAG provides advice to the Dean, University Library and works together to provide strategic leadership for the Library.
The Dean, University Library reports to the Provost and Vice-President Academic and is a member of Provost’s Council, as well as other institutional and academic bodies. The Dean, University Library also serves on the General Faculties Council along with Library faculty representatives and serves on a number of GFC Committees including the Teaching and Learning Committee and the Research and Scholarship Committee.
The Library Faculty Council, including standing and subcommittees such as the Library Scholarship Committee and the Library Faculty Curriculum Committee, provides oversight and guidance on academic decision-making matters.
The Library has a Student Library Advisory Committee which provides a venue for students to give input, advice and suggestions on matters related to Library operations and services. All interested students are welcome to join these meetings which are held a couple of times each term.
The Library also employs a number of internal committees, working groups, and teams to ensure successful operations and achievement of its vision and strategic plan priorities.