Pathology for the Health Professions by
Pathology for the Health Professions, 6th Edition is the best resource for clear, concise, and clinically relevant information on general pathology. Praised for its stunning collection of pathology images, this engaging, easy-to-understand text covers the most frequently encountered diseases that you need to know to succeed in today's healthcare environment. UNIQUE! Each major disease is presented in a standardized format called DEPPiCT (Disease description, Etiology, Pathogenesis, Pathology, Clinical features, and a short discussion on Therapy or prognosis), providing a valid and useful didactic approach to study and clinical practice. Clear, non-technical writing style makes complex concepts more engaging and easier to understand. Learning objectives and review questions help you identify the most important concepts and test your understanding of essential principles. Key terms are listed at the beginning of each chapter and bolded at first mention. Comprehensive glossary provides easy access to definitions of terms. NEW! Streamlined content is more accessible and easier to read. UPDATED! Did You Know? boxes showcase interesting clinical and public health data. UPDATED! More than 500 high-quality, full-color images visually reinforce your understanding of disease conditions and general pathology principles.
Therapeutic Exercise by
Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, Kisner & Colby's 6th Edition offers the most up-to-date exercise guidelines for individualizing interventions for those with movement disorders. Now with contributions from the leading experts in the field, it encompasses all of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy, including spinal surgery and spinal manipulation. This renowned manual remains the authoritative source for exercise instruction for the therapist and for patient self-management. Plus, you'll have access to Kisner and Colby's Therapeutic Exercise Video Library online at DavisPlus, featuring over 30 NEW full-color video clips--94 in all--demonstrating basic therapeutic exercises and techniques.
Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage by
Success in massage therapy begins with a solid foundation in the fundamentals! Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage, 7th Edition helps you build the skills you need, from assessing problems and planning treatment to mastering massage techniques and protocols. Hundreds of photographs demonstrate massage techniques step by step, and case studies bring concepts to life. 'How-to' videos on the Evolve companion website show manipulation techniques, body mechanics, positioning and draping, and more. If you want to prepare for licensing and certification exams and succeed in practice, this resource from massage therapy expert Sandy Fritz is your text of choice. Comprehensive coverage includes all of the fundamentals of therapeutic massage, including massage techniques, equipment and supplies, wellness, working with special populations, and business considerations; it also prepares you for success on licensing and certification exams. Step-by-step, full-color photographs demonstrate massage techniques and protocols by body area. Three hours of video on the Evolve website demonstrate techniques and body mechanics - each clip is narrated and performed by author Sandy Fritz - as well as review activities for licensing exams. Proficiency exercises provide opportunities to practice and apply what you are learning. Case studies offer practice with clinical reasoning and prepare you to address conditions commonly encountered in professional practice. Coverage of body mechanics helps you to create an ergonomically effective massage environment and to determine appropriate pressure, drag, and duration application while applying massage methods. Coverage of multiple charting methods helps you develop record-keeping and documentation skills, including SOAP and computer charting with simulation on Evolve. Learning features include chapter outlines, objectives, summaries, key terms, practical applications, activities and exercises, and workbook-type practice. Review tools include matching exercises, short answer questions, fill-in-the-blank questions, drawing exercises, and critical thinking questions, all available on Evolve. Research Literacy and Evidence-Based Practice chapter includes new research findings and explains how research is done, and how to read and understand it. Adaptive Massage chapter explains how to address the needs of specific populations, from pregnant women and infants to hospice patients and people with physical impairments. Massage Career Tracks and Practice Settings chapter covers massage therapy services offered at spas, and looks at the spa as a possible massage career. In-depth coverage of HIPAA shows how to store records in a HIPAA-compliant manner and explains HIPAA requirements and training. Foot in the Door boxes outline the professional skills expected by prospective employers. Updated Basic Pharmacology for the Massage Therapist appendix provides up-to-date information on common medications. NEW! Mock licensing exam is added to the Evolve companion website, and the text now includes review questions at the end of each chapter. NEW! Additional content on critical thinking and research helps in building an evidence-informed practice. NEW! Increased coverage of human trafficking is designed to raise awareness and prevent the spread of this criminal activity. NEW! Updated illustrations in Body Mechanics chapter show how to create an ergonomically effective massage environment.
Outcome-Based Massage by
Outcome-Based MassageTM: Putting Evidence into Practice (3rd edition) goes beyond an update of the content of the second edition. In this book, Dr Andrade and a team of contributors who represent the fields of massage therapy, physical therapy, athletic training, education, psychology, medicine, and physiology take the student or practicing clinician to the next level of using Outcome-Based Massage TM in daily clinical practice. This edition enhances and builds upon the strengths of the first two editions as follows: · Fully updated chapters provide a comprehensive approach to assessment, treatment design, and treatment delivery · Streamlined presentation of theory and practice enhances the teaching and learning experience · Quick Treatment Guides provide a colorful, immediate reference for anatomy, pathophysiology, impairments, and wellness goals for 16 musculoskeletal conditions · New section on the scientific basis of soft-tissue examination provides students and practitioners with the very latest understanding of the emerging body of knowledge in this field · Review sections in each chapter provide Takeaways that summarize key concepts, critical thinking questions, and clinical cases that illustrate the practical application of the concepts discussed in the chapter · Precise, instructive photographs and videos give students and practitioners clear, direct guidance for using the techniques presented in this text
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by
Build your skills in the assessment of musculoskeletal pathology! Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 7th Edition covers the principles of assessment for all of the body's structures and joints, including topics such as gait, posture, the head and face, amputees, primary care, and sports emergencies. The 7th edition offers additional functional assessment forms (e-tools), updated evidence-based reliability and validity tables, and hundreds of video clips demonstrating special tests on how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. Written by noted PT educators David J. Magee and Robert C. Manske, this reference uses a systematic, evidence-based approach to prepare you for success in clinicals, board exams, and in rehabilitation practice. Over 2,500 full-color illustrations and photographs depict key concepts, along with assessment techniques and special tests. At-a-glance icons show the clinical utility of special tests, supplemented by updated, evidence-based reliability and validity tables for tests and techniques Quick-reference data includes hundreds of summary boxes, red-flag and yellow-flag boxes, differential diagnosis tables, muscle and nerve tables, and classification, normal values, and grading tables. A Summary (Précis) of Assessment in each chapter serves as a review of assessment steps. Combined with other books in the Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation series - Scientific Foundations and Principles of Practice, Pathology and Intervention, and Athletic and Sports Issues - this book provides you with the knowledge and background necessary to assess and treat musculoskeletal conditions. NEW! Updated information in all chapters includes new special tests, as well as photos, line drawings, boxes, tables, and references. NEW! Head and Face chapter features updated information on concussion management. NEW! Enhanced Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging section added to applicable chapters, along with new photos and diagnostic images. NEW! Updated psychometric tables for special tests list reliability, sensitivity, specificity, and + and - likelihood ratios when available. NEW! More case studies present real-life scenarios to help you develop assessment and diagnostic skills using information from the chapter. NEW! Additional functional assessment forms (e-tools) have been incorporated. NEW! Video clips demonstrate special tests to give you a clearer understanding of how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. NEW! Enhanced ebook version, included with print purchase, provides access to all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Medical conditions and massage therapy by 
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
The Muscular System Manual by
Joe Muscolino''s The Muscular System Manual: The Skeletal Muscles of the Human Body, 4th Edition is an atlas of the muscles of the human body. This approachable, yet detailed, musculoskeletal anatomy manual provides both beginner and advanced students with a thorough understanding of skeletal muscles in a compartmentalized, customizable layout. Each muscle spread shows the individual muscle drawn over a photo of the human body, with an arrow to indicate the line of pull of the muscle, and explains: the muscle name, the origin of that name, Greek and Latin derivations, pronunciation, attachments, actions, eccentric contraction function, isometric contraction function, innervation to two levels of detail with predominant levels in bold, and arterial supply to two levels of detail. This new edition also features robust Evolve resources, an updated art program, and new chapter review and critical thinking questions that encourage you to apply what you have learned to prepare for practice. UNIQUE! Overlay art, consisting of over 380 full-color anatomical illustrations of muscles, bones, and ligaments drawn over photographs, helps identify the positions of muscles and bones in the human body. UNIQUE! Electronic Muscle and Bone Review Program features a base photograph with a skeleton drawn in and a list of every muscle for each major region of the body so students can choose any combination of muscles and place them onto the illustration - allowing them to see not only the muscle attachments, but also the relationship among the muscles of the region. Complete muscle coverage in an easy-to-understand layout makes this text appropriate for novices to anatomy, as well as intermediate and advanced students. Content organized by body region and includes information on how muscles in that region function together and large drawings of the muscles of that region so you can go directly to the topic you are studying. Covers the methodology for each muscle with information for learning muscle actions to explain the reasoning behind each action - and encourage you to learn and not just memorize. A four-color, student-friendly design with sections clearly boxed throughout and checkboxes that help you keep track of what you need to learn and what you have mastered. Customizable format, with checkboxes and numbered lists in each muscle layout, presents basic muscle information for the beginning student in bold type and more advanced information in regular type. Palpation boxes include bulleted steps instructing how to palpate each muscle so you can apply this assessment skill in practice. Evolve website for instructors includes TEACH Resources, a Test Bank, and an image collection so instructors can easily access all of the materials they need to teach their course in one place - and track through the course management system provided via Evolve. Evolve website for students includes access to audio of the author reading aloud muscle names, attachments, and actions for the muscles covered in the book, labeling exercises, and more to enrich your learning experience. NEW! Chapter objectives summarize key points and give you a framework for what to expect as you read through each chapter. NEW! End-of-chapter review questions further reinforce material once you have read and studied the chapter. NEW! A critical thinking question at the end of each chapter engages you with the material and challenges you to apply information to real-world scenarios. NEW! Video clips demonstrating joint actions on Evolve bring to life the material presented in the Basic Kinesiology Terminology chapter, with live action video of the joint actions. NEW and UPDATED! Bony landmarks and more muscles added to the muscle program on Evolve so you can not only see even more muscle combinations, but also see the bony landmarks labeled for the region. UPDATED! Upgraded line drawings enhance your comprehension of each topic presented through visual representation.
Hands in Health Care by
This is the second edition of a highly successful book - the only one available on this topic. The first edition was written by a well-known massage therapist and author, Gayle MacDonald. For the second edition Gayle has brought in a co-author, Carolyn Tague. Both are well-known and highly respected in the field of hospital massage therapy. The second edition focuses solely on the adult patient and has new chapters on aromatherapy massage, end-of-life care, cultural sensitivity and understanding the therapeutic relationship between patient and practitioner. It also incorporates new sections on addiction and neurological disorders, as well as the most recent research from around the world. The new edition is highly illustrated with full color photographs and drawings, including many new illustrations.
Oncology Massage by
In Oncology Massage - an integrative approach to cancer care the authors have created a textbook which will provide both experienced and inexperienced therapists with a resource to expand their knowledge and understanding of working with people with cancer. Cancer occurrence and survivorship are now so common that every massage therapist will at some time work with clients who have been through cancer treatment. The short and long-term effects of biomedical cancer treatment require massage therapy adaptations to pressure, site, position and duration to provide safe and effective treatments. Informed massage therapists can support the body to promote overall wellness as well as identify the underlying secondary effects of cancer treatment that contribute to physical dysfunction. Oncology Massage: An Integrative Approach to Cancer Care provides massage therapists with essential information for: Treatment planning based on the physiology of cancer and cancer treatments Critical, thoughtful treatment decision making Consideration of the psychosocial effects of cancer Enhancing therapist self-awareness and building a therapeutic relationship. The information is presented in a clear and simple format with plentiful use of illustrations and information boxes which allows it to be used both as a learning tool for those new to the field of oncology massage and as a resource for quick referral when working with new patients. The techniques of massage therapy change very little; it is the knowledge and understanding of their use that distinguishes a massage therapist. Oncology Massage is unusual in that it includes contributions not only from a range of experienced practitioners but also from people with cancer who have received massage during and after cancer treatment. This feedback from clients provides an invaluable addition to the understanding of how massage can be used as a safe and effective part of cancer care.
Massage Therapy by
Make the essential principles of massage therapy more approachable! Covering massage fundamentals, techniques, and anatomy and physiology, Massage Therapy: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition prepares you for success in class, on exams, and in practice settings. The new edition of this student friendly text includes more than 700 images, expanded information on the latest sanitation protocols, critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter, and updated pathologies which reflect what you will encounter in the field. UPDATED pathologies ensure they are current and reflect what you will see in the field as a practitioner. UPDATED Research Literacy and evidence-informed practice skills, emphasize how to locate and apply scientific data and the latest research findings in your massage practice. Licensing and Certification Practice Exams on Evolve mimics the major high-stakes exams in format and content, builds confidence, and helps increase pass rates. Complete anatomy and physiology section, in addition to material on techniques and foundations, you all the information you need in just one book. Robust art program enhances your understanding and comprehension of each topic presented through visual representation. Case studies challenge you to think critically and apply your understanding to realistic scenarios, foster open-mindedness, cultural competency, and stimulate dialogue. Profile boxes provide an inspirational, real-world perspective on massage practice from some of the most respected authorities in massage and bodywork. Clinical Massage chapter focuses on massage in therapeutic and palliative settings such as hospitals, chiropractic and physical therapy offices, nursing homes, and hospice care centers to broaden your career potential. Business chapter loaded with skills to help make you more marketable and better prepared for today's competitive job market. NEW! UPDATED information throughout, including the latest sanitation protocols, ensures the most current, accurate, and applicable content is provided and is appropriate for passing exams and going straight into practice. NEW! Critical thinking questions at the end of the chapters help you develop clinical reasoning skills. NEW! Maps to FSMTB's MBLEx exam, the Entry Level Analysis Project (ELAP), and Massage Therapy Body of Knowledge (MTBOK) to illustrate that our content is in line with the core entry-level massage therapy curriculum. NEW! Revised Kinesiology images include colored indications of origins and insertions.
Communication and Ethics for Bodywork Practitioners by 
