HIstorical news articles relating to Metis people can be found in a variety of digital news archives and online primary source collections, including:

• ***Globe and Mail (1844-2018): The Globe and Mail is a national newspaper covering issues from across Canada as well as reporting on international events. Try using the date filters on the left side panel, or using the advanced search to look for keywords in the title of the articles.
• Peel's Prairie Provinces: A collection of historical newspapers and other documents from Western Canada, dating from 1870, including many small town papers. Keyword search the full-text of articles by selecting the "search text contents" option, use the left side filters to limit by year published and/or specific newspaper.
• Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online - Try browsing this collection - select a relevant city or town and browse issues by relevant date.
• University of Manitoba Newspapers - LImit by date range and try phrase searching, e.g., Metis scrip
• Canadiana: This is a VERY large collection of newspapers, magazine, books, legal documents and other items . Be sure to use the side panel to limit to newspapers and to limit the date range.  

Things to keep in mind when searching for relevant articles

• News travelled more slowly in the past, so if you are looking for news related to a specific event, be aware that it may not have been reported in the news until days or weeks later, depending on where and when the event occurred.

• Places may have been known by different names in the past, make sure you are aware of the terminology that was used at the time the news you are looking for was written..  e.g., Rupert's Land vs. Manitoba, North-West Territory vs. Alberta

• Language has changed over time. Keep in mind the language that may have been used in the news to describe Metis people in the 19th century.

Search Tips

• Be focused: Focus on a particular event, issue or person and use associated keywords

• Search within a relevant date range: This will help avoid being overwhelmed with articles.

• Search within news article titles: This will improve relevance. Use the advanced search option to do this, if the database/collection/newspaper has one.

• Look at editorials: Editorials are opinion-based articles and may be helpful; use the document type filter to limit results to editorials.

• Don’t stop at one: look at multiple articles and choose the ones that best reflect the issue or point you are trying to understand.

• MRU Library Advice on annotated bibliographies
• Concordia University Library advice on annotated bibliographies