This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.

21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.

This scholarly work is the most comprehensive existing resource on human physical appearance--how people's outer physical characteristics and their inner perceptions and attitudes about their own appearance (body image) affect their lives. The encyclopedia's 117 full-length chapters are composed and edited by the world's experts from a range of disciplines--social, behavioral, and biomedical sciences. T

The Encyclopedia of Social Theory, two-volume set, is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in understanding the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of all the key areas of the discipline.

Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

This major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.

The Encyclopedia of Social Problems offers an interdisciplinary perspective into many social issues that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. With more than 600 entries, these two volumes cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them.

This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health. Features & Benefits: International and comparative coverage.

The Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science is the first comprehensive reference that covers the wide variety of disciplines which comprise the field of agricultural science. The four-volume set provides in-depth treatments of specialized topics which are comprehensible to high school and undergraduate students, yet are also beneficial to researchers and specialists. Articles are arranged alphabetically and include featured topics in animal, plant, range, and soilscience; food processing, storage, and distribution; agricultural economics, education, engineering, policy; pest management; rural sociology; water resources, and much more.

An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe

Offering more than 700 entries across 20 sub-disciplines, this encyclopedia represents the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness. Spans concepts, theories, and substantive topics relating to the study of health in our globalized, 21st-century world from aging and stress to ICT and health care, and from disabilities to socio-economic status Brings together an experienced author team from across Europe, Asia, and America, who represent a variety of health-related disciplines

All peoples living in Canada deserve to have a voice in its history. How and why did each people come to Canada? Where did the immigrants and their descendants settle? What kind of lives did they build for themselves and how did they contribute to the country as a whole? These are the kinds of questions addressed in the Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples. Whether a First Nation, founding people, or subsequent arrival, all Canada's peoples are described in 119 individual entries that range from Acadians to Ukrainians, Hyderabadis to Vietnamese. In each instance an entry covers the origin of the group, the process of migration, arrival and settlement, economic and community life, family and kinship patterns, language and culture, education, religion, politics, intergroup relations, and the dynamics of group maintenance. Entries are cross-referenced and include tables, graphs, and suggestions for further reading. Several thematic essays are also included to illuminate the complex issues related to immigration, assimilation, multiculturalism, and Canadian culture and identity. T

Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies.

A comprehensive guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world.Coverage includes areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations.

The first encyclopedia to analyze, summarize, and explain the complexities of men's lives and the idea of modern manhood. * Nearly 400 A-Z entries from aging and intimacy to puberty and Westerns * Cross-references in each entry to other relevant entries * An impressive list of contributors including many of the world's premier scholars * Illustrations of key historical events, people, and ideas that enhance understanding of the material

A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.