• Briefly go over the assignment.
• Discuss what refereed means.
• Speak to different types of information you will encounter during your search
• Ask you to engage in a learning activity that can develop your critical evaluation skills
• Demonstrate some possibilities of how you can break down your topic
• Demonstrate how to find good sources relating to your topic using the library, CanLII and Google Scholar
• Speak to citation, and where to find guides to cite your interrogation videos

Why using good sources matter...

When you endeavor to find sources related to a topic of interest for your academic writing, you are demonstrating a number of skills

• You are able to synthesize a variety of information and integrate it into your own work
• You are able to investigate the dialogue that has occurred related to an area of interest and engage in that conversation through your academic writing
• Using good, credible reliable sources will elevate the accuracy and authority of your own work

Authority is Constructed and Contextual

Information, in any format, is produced to convey a message and is shared via a selected delivery method.  The iterative processes of researching, creating, revising, and disseminating information vary, and the resulting produce reflects these differences (ACRL par. 13).

• Information creations are valued differently depending on the context and purpose for which they are created
• Audience matters. Certain things are created for specific purposes and don't make one format of information better. It is up to us to discern what information process best fits our information needs.
• In your own creation process, understand that your choices in what type of information you use, impact the purpose for which the information product you create will be used and the message it conveys.

Go to this jamboard and lets talk about what peer review means to you!

Click on the sticky note icon on the left hand panel.  Type in your ideas about peer review. 

A scholarly publication contains articles written by experts in a particular field. The primary audience of these articles is other experts. ... Academics use a variety of terms and language to describe this: "peer-reviewed", vetted academic, or "refereed". They all mean essentially the same thing and refer to the editorial and publication process in which scholars in the same field review the research and findings before the article is published, checking for validity, originality, and quality. 

1. What are the author’s credentials? Is it written by an expert?
2. Published in a journal (is there a DOI?) If you are not sure if it is a journal article enter the title of the publication into Ulrichs Web
3. Academic language
4. Includes reference list
5. Length
6. A "Received" and "Accepted" date
7. Is it an actual article? Sometimes other types of content are included in scholarly publications, such as editorials/opinion pieces and book reviews.  Make sure you are looking at an article. 

Examples

Holmgren, J. A., & Fordham, J. (2011). The CSI effect and the Canadian and the Australian jury. Journal of Forensic Sciences, 56, S63-S71.

Yanushkevich, S. N., Sundberg, K. W., Twyman, N. W., Guest, R. M., & Shmerko, V. P. (2019). Cognitive checkpoint: Emerging technologies for biometric-enabled watchlist screening. Computers & Security, 85, 372-385.

For the following exercise, join the group that matches your birthday and complete the exercise.

Group 1 (your birthday is in January, February, March, or April)

Scan the following resource (you don't need to read it in full), and answer the question in the following Padlet

Consider the following:

• What are the qualifications of the author(s)?
• What type of evidence do they use to support their argument? Data, other people's research, personal opinions, etc.?
• Who is the intended audience of this article? How does that impact how it is written?
• Does this source undergo any type of review or quality control?

Group 2 (your birthday is in May, June, July, or August)

Scan the following resource (you don't need to read it in full), and answer the question in the following Padlet

Consider the following:

• What are the qualifications of the author(s)?
• What type of evidence do they use to support their argument? Data, other people's research, personal opinions, etc.?
• Who is the intended audience of this article? How does that impact how it is written?
• Does this source undergo any type of review or quality control?

Group 3 (your birthday is in September, October, November, or December)

Scan the following resource (you don't need to read it in full), and answer the question in the following Padlet

Consider the following:

• What are the qualifications of the author(s)?
• What type of evidence do they use to support their argument? Data, personal opinions, etc.?
• Who is the intended audience of this article? How does that impact how it is written?
• Does this source undergo any type of review or quality control?

But seriously...

Your scholarly sources will likely be one of the following:

• A peer-reviewed journal article
• An academic encyclopedia entry (that gives you some substantive information)
• An academic book (published by an academic press, written by a scholar)

Remember: 

Use your critical evaluation skills to determine whether your other sources are good enough to use in this assignment! Look for references to data, evidence, and links to other scholarship.  Make sure that the source you use comes from a reliable source.

Let's try this quick activity:  

Take a look at the image below.  Using the link provided, type in words or phrases that you would use to describe this image. Think: how would I search to retrieve a similar image? 

[Figure 1. jobbgem. Traffic [Photograph].https://flic.kr/p/4roEou]

What words would you use to describe this photo? 

Questions to consider

• Are you using the terminology that an expert in the field would use?
• Is there more than one way to spell the word?
• Are there any synonyms or other terms that could apply to your topic?

Using the Library 

There are a few ways to use the library.  

• Use the library search box/Library Search - allows you to search the entire collection.  
• Search in subject-specific databases - I have them listed under the databases tab on the CRJS guide.  You will be searching a smaller collection of sources.
• Search in discipline-specific journals - This type of search will definitely yield fewer results.  It helps to know the publication title to use this feature effectively, but you can also type in a broader topic, as long as that word is contained within the title of the journal  Eg: forensic

Search Smarter!

You can search in a way to combine or omit different terms by telling the search engine exactly what you want…this can help you save some time (and frustration!)

• Use quotation marks to keep phrases together - "Black Lives Matter"

• Use  AND to combine search terms - "police violence" AND protester

• Use OR to connect two or more similar terms - BLM OR "Black Lives Matter"

• Use wild cards to substitute a letter or suffix with a symbol - demonstr*

Things to remember when using Library Search:

1. Sign in to save searches, items, and to request materials.

2. Use the pin icon to save books and articles. 

3. Use the filters on the right. You will use Availability, Resource Type, and Date filters most often.

4. Some items won't be available. You can request unavailable items using interlibrary loan.

5. When viewing an item record, scroll down to the Get It or Full Text section to get the item.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another great way to find peer-reviewed/scholarly material. Google Scholar has a nifty citation chaining function.  The Cited by function will forward you to indexed scholarly material that has cited an article that you may be interested in.  The Related Articles link will direct you to similar articles that may have the same metadata or keywords. 

The Advanced Search is found by clicking the menu icon (top left).
Besides providing links to articles in MRU databases, Google Scholar links to online repositories that contain articles the author has been allowed to upload.  Academia.edu and ResearchGate are among the repositories searched by Google Scholar.

By clicking on the Settings icon, you can select library links to show library access for up to 5 libraries (type in Mount Royal and click on save).  If you are logged into the MRU library, links should automatically populate if you are running a Google search in another window. 

CanLII (The Canadian Legal Information Institute) is a freely available database powered and supported by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.  Content focuses on Canadian primary law sources that include: 

• Jurisprudence (Federal and Provincial case law, tribunal decisions).
• Legislation (Federal and Provincial statutes and regulations)
• Commentary (both refereed and crowd-generated commentary).

• Cite Sources: Learn the correct way to cite sources by using these guides, tutorials, and videos.
• Referencing Webinars: APA & MLA. Referencing Webinars are 75 minutes long.  Registration is required.
• Online Appointments: Personalized online 30-minute appointments with a Learning Strategist.

New SLS APA Referencing Tutorial on D2L

This self-paced 90-minute tutorial covers the same content as our live workshop—why citation is important along with the basics of in-text citations and reference entries in APA Style. Students who complete the tutorial will gain access to a form they can fill out and submit as proof of completion.

Access the tutorial on D2L: Using Google Chrome as your web browser, log in to D2L (learn.mru.ca) with your @mtroyal.ca account. Click the “Discover” tab, then type “APA” in the search bar. Click on the “APA Referencing Tutorial” link and then the “Enroll in Course” button. If you have any questions about the tutorial, contact sls@mtroyal.ca.

Citing your video

You need to include the following elements when you are citing your interrogation video

Your reference list entry would look something like this: 

Example: (also apply a hanging indent)

Vancouver Sun. (2020. February 7). Complete Vancouver police interrogation of Rocky Rambo Wei Nam Kam [Video Recording].                YouTube.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HLRJso22uc 

Your in-text citation will require a time stamp. 

Check the time that the quote starts and use that in place of a page number, e.g. (Moorhouse, 2015, 1:13:20). Here the 1:13:20 refers to 1 hour 13 minutes 20 seconds into the film, where the quote we want starts.

Hours/minutes/seconds follows the pattern H:MM:SS

Minutes/seconds follows the pattern MM:SS

Where you are only using seconds (e.g. for a short clip), use a zero at the front, e.g. 0:39 for 39 seconds.

Example: (Vancouver Sun, 2020, 4:36:12).