MRU Library Website: Policy Studies: Policy and Government Documents

Policy and Government Documents

Alberta Hansard
Official transcripts of the debates of the Assembly, 1972-present
Scrapbook Hansard
The official Alberta Hansard was not implemented until 1972. The Scrapbook Hansard is a collection of newspaper articles, transcripts, and other information that, together, provide information on Legislature debates prior to 1972.
Legislative Assembly Records
Order papers, votes and proceedings, tablings, motions, and petitions.
Alberta Bills by Legislature
View bills of every Alberta Legislature with links to debates
Committees of the Legislative Assembly
List of Assembly committees with description, reports, membership, minutes, and more.

Alberta Legislature Library
Contains reports and policy analysis, local histories, newspapers, and other materials related to the Government of Alberta and its departments and agencies.
Alberta King's Printer
Publisher of provincial legislation
CANLII Alberta
Legislation and decisions of Alberta courts
Alberta Gazette
The official newspaper of the Government of Alberta
Government of Alberta Open Publications Portal
Search for publications and open data of the Government of Alberta and government departments

Debates of the House of Commons (Hansard)
Official transcripts of House of Commons proceedings from 2001.
Debates of the Senate
Official transcripts of the proceedings of the Senate from 1996
LegisInfo
Search bills of the House of Commons and Senate as presented and amended. 1994-present.
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources
Search historical Senate and House of Commons documents including Debates (Hansard), Journals, bills and other content.
Linked Parliamentary Data Project
From the University of Toronto, a searchable database of the Debates of the House of Commons, with linked information about members of the House. Additional data, include Senate Debates and committee documents forthcoming.

Canada Commons - Documents
This collection contains monographs of research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, environmental scans and more.

Government of Canada Publications
Current and historical documents published by federal government departments.
Open Government Portal
Search open data, contracts, proactive disclosure documents, scientific reports, and other information from across federal government departments and agencies.
Canada Gazette
The official newspaper of the Government of Canada featuring information about new statutes and regulations, board decisions, and public notices.

Canadiana Online
Canadian primary source content, includes books, magazines and government documents published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century.

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII)
Free access to federal and provincial legislation and regulations, select tribunal decisions and case law.
Justice Laws (Statutes and Regulations)
Department of Justice site providing all federal acts and regulations currently in force, as well as links to the Constitution Act and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.
Canada - Policies, Regulations, Laws by Department or Agency

United States

United States Code
Compilation of the general and permanent laws of the United States
US Congress.gov
Browse the documents of the United States Congress, including legislation, congressional record, committees, and more.
GovInfo
A large repository of US federal government documents

United Kingdom

UK Parliament
Central location for records of the activities of the UK House of Commons and House of Lords.
GOV.UK
Use the 'government activity' link to find regulations, policy papers, and more from the UK government.

Other Countries

Latin American Government Documents Archive
Searchable database of websites, ministerial documents, speeches and similar documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries.
Inter-Parliamentary Union
Provides detailed information about all member parliaments (nearly all nations), links to relevant websites, and reports on major activities of parliaments.
Foreign Official Gazettes Database (2007)
Database of official national-level gazettes. Gazettes include pronouncements and other information about the business of the government. While the database is no longer updated, it remains available as a research resource.
Constitute
Database of all currently in force constitutions, indexed and comparable by topic (e.g. rights, judiciary, federalism, etc.)
International Labour Organization NATLEX
Database of national labour, social security, and human rights legislation.

United Nations

Overview of UN Documentation
A comprehensive guide to the documentation of the UN's major bodies and relevant repositories.
UN Digital Library
Collection of United Nations documents, voting data, speeches, and more
UN Official Document System (ODS)
ODS holds a very wide range of UN documents, including some not held by the Digital Library.

European Union

EUR-LEX
Official repository of legislation of the European Union
EU Actions by Topic
Provides links to summaries of current initiatives and relevant legislation related to EU policy areas.
Publications Office of the European Union
Portal for EU publications, data, law, and other records.

Other Bodies

OECD iLibrary
Large collection of OECD policy papers, analyses, recommendations, and other documents.

International Monetary Fund eLibrary
Access to the International Monetary Fund’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Topics include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
Contains a large collection of World Bank policy research working papers, economic and sector work studies, books, journal articles, and much moe.
World Trade Organization Documents and Publications
Portal for discovery of official documents and publications of the WTO
ILO Labordoc
Repository of reports, working papers, and publications from the International Labour Organization
NATO e-Library
Portal for discovery of official documents and publications of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Policy Analysis

Canada

Policy Commons
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
Conference Board of Canada e-library
Research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc, including reports, briefings, economic periodicals and recorded webinars. Please create an account in order to access documents off campus.

Library of Parliament Research Publications
Summaries and background papers compiled by the Library of Parliament to support policy decisions.
Research Institutes and Policy Centres
A thorough list of Canadian policy research organizations from the University of Calgary
Policy Horizons Canada
Find Policy
Searches policy analysis reports from 14 Canadian think tanks and research institutes. Use the top menu to search through documents from other countries or on particular policy issues.

International

IssueLab
Search for research reports on a range of social issues or browse documents from organizations working in different areas of the social sector.
Policy Research Database
From Michigan State University, search through summaries of academic research and policy documents on a range of policy areas.
European Parliamentary Research Service Publications
Policy briefs and similar documents developed by the Parliamentary Research Service in support of the work of members of the European Parliament.

Chatham House Online Archive
The publications and archives covering 90 years of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute. Includes full text of two of Chatham House’s flagship periodicals, International Affairs and The World Today.
Authorized users: Include any person within the geographically defined area of Alberta that can authenticate via IP address using the Gale Geo IP authentication service.

Data mining: Licensed content available via text and data mining hard drives available from the Library for use in accordance to terms of use.

Scholarly sharing: Allowed with adherence to MRU's fair dealing guidelines.

Comparative Agendas Project
CAP tracks policy approaches in numerous countries. Use the trends tool to compare approaches to policy across countries and time.
Health Systems Evidence
Contains policy briefs and evidence summaries related to health care

Research Help

Erik Christiansen

Contact:

Email: echristiansen@mtroyal.ca
Phone: 403.440.5168
Office: EL4423C

Policy Studies | Policy and Government Documents

Policy and Government Documents

Policy Analysis

Research Help