Why use a background source?
Don't know much about your topic? Not sure where to start your research?
Background sources (also called reference sources) are things like encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. and are excellent sources for:
- Getting a general overview of your topic
- Introducing you to key concepts and terminology
- Introducing you to issues and point of interest in research and practice fields
- Providing the background knowledge that will help you make sense of scholarly research articles
- Helping you identify and define research topics for your assignments
Reference databases
-
Credo Academic Core
An online reference library comprised of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, etc.
-
MEDLINE PlusA public health information resource that provides users with information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and healthy recipes.
-
Oxford Reference LibraryCross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
-
Merck Manuals
A medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. The Merck Manuals are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
-
Sage KnowledgeThis extensive database provides full-text access to titles in the complete Sage collection including: eBook titles in SAGE Books and from SAGE Reference and CQ Press Reference. The subject coverage is across a broad range of the social sciences and humanities.
Example Background Sources
-
Encyclopedia of Exercise Medicine in Health and Disease
by
Publication Date: 2012 -
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
by
Publication Date: 2014 -
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
Publication Date: 2017 -
Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise
by
Publication Date: 2016
