GNED 1403 - Amber McLinden
Class objectives
By the end of this class you will have done the following:
- Using LibrarySearch: Students will have practiced creating search strategies using operators like AND, OR, and truncation.
- Using Google Scholar: Students will have explored Google Scholar’s advanced search features and practiced finding scholarly resources through MRU library links.
- Evaluating Information: Students will have discussed and applied key criteria for evaluating the reliability and credibility of sources.
- Identifying Scholarly Sources: Students will have compared scholarly and non-scholarly sources and identified examples of each.
- Finding and Attributing Images: Students will have located images for academic use and discussed proper attribution practices.
This work (Question Mark Symbol Icon Character, by Peggy_Marco), identified by Pixabay, is free of known copyright restrictions.
Assignments
-
Rhetorical essay (20%)
-
Blogging assignment (30%)
-
Podcast assignment (20%)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a great tool for finding quality resources.
- To show library access for up to 5 libraries, click the Settings icon, select Library Links, type “Mount Royal,” and save. If you’re logged into the MRU library, these links should appear automatically when searching.
- The Cited by feature helps you find related articles.
Helpful Search Operators to Use in Google Scholar
Advanced Search is in the menu icon (top left)
Use quotation marks to keep phrases together:
-
Example: “climate change”
You don’t need AND to combine terms—Google Scholar does this automatically.
Use OR to search for similar terms:
-
Example: “climate change” OR “global warming”
Use truncation (*) to find different word endings:
-
Example: ethic* will search for ethics, ethical, ethically
Use intitle: to search only in titles:
-
Example: intitle:“climate change”
Evaluating Information Using RADAR
When you find search results, it’s important to evaluate if they’re good for your assignment. Use the RADAR method to check if a source is appropriate:
RELEVANCE
-
Does it match my topic?
-
Who is the source meant for, and is it the right fit for my assignment?
AUTHORITY
Who created it, and are they trustworthy?
Are they experts or qualified in this area?
DATE
-
When was it made or published?
-
Is it too old to be useful?
ACCURACY
-
Are the facts correct?
-
Does the source provide its own references?
REASON FOR CREATION
-
Why was this source made?
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
A scholarly publication contains articles written by experts in a particular field. The primary audience of these articles is other experts.Many of these publications are also referred to as "peer-reviewed," academic, or "refereed." They all mean essentially the same thing and refer to the editorial and publication process in which scholars in the same field review the research and findings before the article is published.
|
|
Scholarly / Peer-Reviewed |
Popular / Not Scholarly (but possibly still credible!) |
|
Author |
|
|
|
Review Process |
|
|
|
Audience / |
|
|
|
Content |
|
|
|
Sources |
|
|
|
Examples |
|
|
Some Helpful Questions for Identifying a Scholarly/Academic Article
-
What are the author’s credentials? Was it written by an expert?
-
Was it published in a journal (is there a DOI?)? (If you are not sure if a source is a journal article, you can enter the title of the publication into Ulrichs Web to check.)
-
Does it use academic or more technical language?
-
Does it includes a reference list of sources that it is citing?
-
How long is it? (Scholarly articles are typically longer than popular or news articles.)
-
Does it have a "Received" and "Accepted" date on it?
-
Is it an actual article? (Sometimes other types of content are included in scholarly publications, such as editorials/opinion pieces and book reviews. Make sure you are looking at an article.)
Image Sources
Photos:
Contains images from Archive Photos, Canadian Press, Motion Picture & Television Archive, and MapQuest as well as a variety of images from the public domain.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly 1,000,000 images with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Provides access to more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images.
Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. It represents a large part of the complete collection chosen for its suitability for web use. Over 17000 individual works of art are featured here cross-referenced and linked using Bridgeman's own categories.
Search photographs from the LIFE Photo Archive.
Images on the Web:
Creative Commons licensing offers an alternative to full copyright. Search the collection of Flickr images that have been offered for use with CC licenses.
Search freely usable media files.
Stock photos
Searches for images that match an uploaded file or another image on the web - great for tracing original creators of images, rights holders, or just finding more information.
Great for finding high-profile images.
Archival Collections:
Search the photographs collection in the Archives.
Search for digital material in the Archives Society of Alberta’s online portal.
Library & Archives Canada Image Search
Search for photographs, drawings, maps and art.
For more information on finding images you can use in your work, consult the Copyright Guide's Copyright friendly image resources section.
Citing Images in your Assignment
Consult MRU's advisory of image citation in APA here.
Images that you refer to in your assignments must always be cited both parenthetically in text and in your reference list.
Images that you reproduce in your assignment must also be cited in-text with a figure number, title, and a figure note.
Example 1
|
Figure 1 Portrait of a Woman by Raphael, 1505-1506. Note. Source: (Raphael, 1505-1506). |
Note: Some instructors (like Professor McLinden) allow you to use a typical APA parenthetical in-text reference (as in Figure 1 above) under your image instead of a more formal figure note.
Reference list entry:
In addition to the in-text citation, this image would also be cited in your reference list like this:
Raphael. (1505-1506). Portrait of a woman [Drawing]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Raffaello_Sanzio_- _Portrait_of_a_Woman_-_WGA18948.jpg
Example 2
|
Figure 2 Lava the Sled Dog Note. Source: (Denali National Park and Preserve, 2013). |
Reference list entry:
Denali National Park and Preserve. (2013). Lava [Photograph]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/denalinps/8639280606/
If the image has no title, provide a description of the image in your own words, e.g.:
Denali National Park and Preserve. (2013). [Photograph of blue-eyed dog in the snow]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/denalinps/8639280606/
Example 3
|
Figure 3 The Artist With Their Work Note. Source: (Philadelphia Museum of Art, 2019). |
Reference list entry:
Philadelphia Museum of Art [@philamuseum]. (2019, December 3). “It’s always wonderful to walk in and see my work in a collection where it’s loved, and where people are [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/B5oDnnNhOt4/
-
In this case there is no title, so we use the first 20 words of the post’s text as its title (according to the direction of APA style).
Example 4: Stock image citations
|
Figure 4 The Ōnaruto Bridge in the Evening
Note. Source: (Kanenori, 2022). |
Reference list entry:
Kanenori. (2022, September 8). [Photograph of the Ōnaruto Bridge in the evening]. Pixabay. https://pixabay.com/photos/landscape-evening-onaruto-bridge-7438429/
Example 5: Integrating your own images
|
Figure 5 A Rainbow in Edmonton
My own supplied image does not need a note or source attribution in APA style. |
Reference list entry:
My own supplied image does not need a reference list entry in APA style.
For tips on podcasting and audio production, check out the Audio Production Rooms + Podcasting guide on the MRU Library website.
