About the Library
Mount Royal University Library is an integral part of the MRU experience, supporting deep learning and innovative teaching and scholarship. The Library fosters intellectual curiosity, creativity, and exploration, where people find new answers and develop new questions. The Library engages our diverse communities by sharing our expertise through a range of intriguing programs, excellent services, and rich information resources, in a welcoming, technology-enabled environment.
Location: First Floor
Whether you need help finding the perfect resource for a paper, borrowing some of the latest equipment and technology to take home, or meeting with a Librarian for one-to-one research help, it's all available at the Service Desk on the main floor.
Location: First Floor (EL1355)
A creative space for students, faculty, staff and community to explore virtual reality (VR), mixed reality (MR), and augmented reality (AR). The specialized equipment and in-room expertise are regularly incorporated into curriculum.
Audio Production Rooms
Location: Second Floor (EL2451A)
Library users have an opportunity to pursue a multitude of digital projects with the help of specialized video and sound editing equipment and software. Expand on your approach to teaching and learning or finally create that passion project.
Location: First Floor (EL1270)
A gathering space designed to support public lectures, presentations, workshops, showcases and other interactive events. Surrounded by glass and featuring a 7x2 metre visualization wall, this is the ideal option for an engaging public setting.
Location: Third Floor (EL3345)
This “grey box” room allows projection of images or information on all four walls of the room at the same time, creating a unique 360º experience for teaching, learning and research.
Location: First Floor
There's no better place to meet and collaborate than this open space on the main floor. Whiteboards, tables, and seating are often spotted in the sunlit area that is also used as space for programming and special events.
Location: First Floor (EL1441)
Our Visualization Classroom features one of our two resident visualization walls - a large-scale high-resolution digital display that joins 15, 55” LCD monitors to create one large screen.
Location: First Floor
A makerspace open to students, faculty, staff and community users to explore ideas and concepts. Come in and experiment with new equipment, tools, and software to approach projects in a hands-on way.
Location: Second Floor
Access support for numeric, qualitative, and spatial data through a specialized area in the Library that features workstations with related software. Students and Faculty also benefit from a Data Librarian who can assist with data management and collection tools, as well as facilitate workshops.
Our team of Librarians lead the Library Instruction Program, which takes form in literacy instruction that reaches students through in-class guest lectures, workshops, and online modules. Classroom faculty can reach out for support on how to use Library resources and create assignments that help students learn good practices and information literacy skills.
Have a Seat
You can find 1,700 seats for scholars throughout all four floors that range from study carrels, booths, soft seats, height adjustable computer workstations, group rooms and tables, pods, and more. Many options are powered making it easy for scholars to get to work while staying connected to handheld devices.
Archives and Special Collections
Location: Fourth Floor (EL4330)
The launch of Archives Search is a significant step towards our goal to connect as many students and faculty as possible to the Archives’ valuable collections so they can be used for teaching and research. Since some records are so delicate, having a digital copy will also help to preserve the originals for future generations.
Our growing collection comprises 535,000 monographs and over 81,000 journal titles in digital and print formats. Specialized data collections, music, image and video resources are also an important part of our Library resources. Find everything you need with LibrarySearch
Location: Third Floor
This soft seating area is prominently located on the 3rd floor and is a destination of choice for readers, writers, and those seeking a cozy and comfortable place to gather.
Location: East Entrance
Walk and study at the same time!
Location: Second Floor (EL2416)
The family room on the 2nd floor provides a comfortable and private space to tend to the special needs of our youngest library patrons.
This room is intended to provide a comfortable and private bookable space for parents to pump, feed or nurse in private. It is not a group meeting room; users not using the space for the intended purpose may be asked to leave or prevented from booking in future. Please return key card to Service Desk at the end of your booked time to avoid late fees.
Location: First Floor
- Using the locker is as simple as choosing (and remembering!) a 4-digit code to lock and unlock the locker
- Instructions for using the electronic locks are located inside the lockers
- Each locker is equipped with electrical outlets to charge your devices while they are in storage
- Lockers are emptied daily, so please remember to remove your belongings before you leave for the day.
Location: First Floor
The café is located on the main floor of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre adjacent to the front entrance. It offers a variety of locally-sourced fresh sandwiches, salads, and baked goods, as well as range of coffee and other beverage choices. View all food options on campus.
Mount Royal University Library:
Igniting exploration, learning, creation, and sharing.
Enhance outreach to MRU’s diverse communities through strategic marketing and community-tailored programming.
Increase awareness of the resources our communities can access at the MRU Library. These resources include: services, collections, personnel, and virtual and physical tools and spaces.
Gather information to deepen understanding of our user communities and use it to inform resource development.
Provide a welcoming environment to all users through services, programming and spaces, with particular focus on Indigenous and other growing communities
Evaluate and meet user needs through highly responsive and accessible services, adaptable spaces, and technological innovations.
Continually gather data from the Library, the University, and other pertinent communities to assess user needs, wish lists, and gaps, and use this evidence to inform decisions.
Develop an agile framework for measuring the impact and value of Library resources.
Educate and cross-educate staff to create a nimble Library team with user-focus as the primary driver.
Provide education and programming to enable users to make the most of all Library resources.
Enhance collaboration within our team and with our building partners to provide innovative and improved experiences to our users.
Create forums to celebrate the contributions, shared values, and diversity of our staff and Library users.
Put in place defined communication channels to address innovations and gaps in resources.
Develop opportunities for students as collaborators in library initiatives and assessment.
Increase the value and impact of the Library’s online presence as a critical teaching tool and a virtual destination of choice.
Ensure the Library’s website is a highly functional teaching and research tool for our users.
Ensure that our online presence provides beneficial, up-to-date information and resources to our users.
Ensure our online presence and electronic resources are compatible with our users’ expectations.
Make our virtual and physical spaces complementary, adding value to each.
Promote the Library as a knowledge catalyst, generating ideas, fostering connections, and combining expertise and information to create knowledge.
Ensure collections and instruction programs support students in their undergraduate research endeavours.
Coordinate with other campus partners to develop workshops and resources to support undergraduate and faculty research.
Ensure our collections and tools adapt to the changing needs of our communities.
Use new Library spaces to enable new ways of conducting research and scholarship.
MRU Library Past and Future
- Lincoln Park Campus opens including the Library.
- Campus approach to instruction was based on the Leggett model. Library design was based on vast open concept with local Resource Islands providing support and resources for faculty and programs within “departments”.
- Library’s open concept and honour system for borrowing becomes problematic and security gates are installed.
- Media resources collection and services becomes part of the Library.
- Open concept design proves noisy and is renovated to create quiet study areas.
- Library gets non-smoking area!
- Heritage Fund grant was received dedicating $9 million dollars for collection improvement.
- Card catalogue dismantled and new online catalogue introduced (Multilis System).
- Overdue fines introduced.
- Library Resource Islands close.
- Library Reserve collection implemented.
- $1.6 million dollars received to strengthen collection in support of applied degrees.
- Library relocated while major renovation begins. Library renovation was planned to address student growth and demand for the next five years.
- Library review identifies need to grow Library in terms of faculty and staff, as well as collections.
- Library enhancements becomes Mount Royal College’s highest facilities priority and a focus point for the transition of Mount Royal College to Mount Royal University.
- Provincial government provides $2.8 million in funds to plan new Library and Learning Centre.
- Mount Royal College officially becomes Mount Royal University.
- Additional investments are made to support Library collections for degree programs
- Mount Royal celebrates Centennial.
- Library takes on official responsibility for the University Archives.
- Library spaces reorganized to address persistent noise issues.
- Clay Riddell becomes named donor for the Riddell Library and Learning Centre.
- Provincial Government provides support for construction of the Riddell Library and Learning Centre, with the ground breaking taking place that same year.
- Library restructuring and planning for new services and programs in Riddell Library and Learning Centre is started.
- Building planning and design along with community consultation underway.
- Construction is completed and Library moves into new Riddell Library Learning Centre on June 26 2017 for its soft launch.
- New Library includes visualization spaces, a maker studio, audio production rooms, an immersion studio, new library classrooms, a special collections and archives area, 34 group rooms, quiet reading rooms and lots of student study space.
- Other building partners – Academic Development Centre, Student Learning Services, Institute for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, and Department of Education – move in over the course of the summer.
- September 7th 2017 Grand Opening!
Structure and Policies
The Library team is comprised of approximately 60 talented and dedicated individuals who share the common goals of enabling student success and providing excellent service. The team is made up of approximately 17 full-time equivalent faculty librarians, 37 full time equivalent staff members, six managers/administrators, along with a number of student casuals and part-time staff.
We support approximately 11,500 full and part-time students and approximately 2,500 faculty and staff, and have an important role to play in outreach and community engagement beyond the University.
The Library organizational structure helps define roles, responsibilities and accountabilities, while cross-functional teams, working groups and committees ensure an integrated, evidence-based, and strategic approach to projects, initiatives and the ongoing success of the Library.
The Library is a key unit within Academic Affairs and includes both faculty (librarians) and academic staff members, along with exempt and management members.
The Library Leadership Team comprised of the Library Chair, the Associate Dean, University Library, Public Services, the Associate Dean, University Library, Collections and Digital Services, and the Library Operations Officer, which provides advice to the Dean, University Library and works together to provide strategic leadership for the Library.
The Dean, University Library reports to the Provost and Vice-President Academic and is a key member of Dean’s Council, as well as other key institutional and academic bodies. The Dean, University Library also serves on the General Faculties Council along with Library faculty (librarian) representatives.
The Library Faculty Council, including standing and subcommittees such as the Library Scholarship Standing Committee, the Library Faculty Curriculum Committee, Roles and Responsibilities Committee, etc. provides oversight and guidance on academic decision making matters.
The Library Standing Committee of the General Faculties Council (GFC) includes elected GFC Counsellors from across all faculties. This body provides advice and input to the Library regarding faculty academic needs and matters.
The Library has a Student Library Advisory Committee which provides a valuable venue for students to provide input, advice and suggestions on matters related to Library operations and services. All interested students are welcome to join these meetings which are held a couple of times each term.
The Library also employs a number of internal committees, working groups, and teams to ensure successful operations and achievement of its vision and strategic plan priorities.
Using the library/resources
FOIP Notification Statement - Library Services Notice
The personal information that you provide to Mount Royal University is collected under the authority of the Post-Secondary Learning Act and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIP) Act (Alberta) – section 33(c). The information will be used to provide Library Services to patrons. Collected personal information can be reviewed subject to the provisions under the Act.
Questions regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personal information can be directed to:
Administrative Assistant to the Dean, University Library
Mount Royal University
4825 Mount Royal Gate SW
Calgary, AB T3E 6K6
This website is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license. However, this website also contains copyright protected works owned by third parties. Such third-party works are not covered by the CC license. If you wish to use or reproduce such third party works, you must contact the copyright owner for permission.