Go over assignment details
Review the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly sources
Talk about topic selection and narrowing
Explore our main LibrarySearch and how to use it to to find sources
Talk about citation
Show a couple of different ways to get help if you have questions
Goal: By the end of this session you will know where and how to search for sources for your assignment, where to get research help, and will leave with at least one source that can be used in your assignment
This library session is part two of a scaffold to help you be successful with your final assignment
1. Part one provided articles to you so you could become familiar with the type of resources you could expect in this discipline and subject area
2. Part two (you are here!) asks you to find two scholarly articles and answer some specific questions about the articles you have found
3. Part three is to write an final assignment on your topic using a variety of scholarly and academic resources
For each of these parts, you will want to ensure you are reading the assignment closely to confirm:
Image by Silviu on the street from Pixabay
Here is a digital copy of the worksheet that was handed out in class to help you keep track of your work in the library session:
A scholarly publication contains articles written by experts in a particular field. The primary audience of these articles is other experts. ... Many of these publications are also referred to as "peer-reviewed", academic or "refereed". They all mean essentially the same thing and refer to the editorial and publication process in which scholars in the same field review the research and findings before the article is published.
| Scholarly / Peer-Reviewed | Popular/Not Scholarly | |
| Author | Expert | Journalist / Professional Writer |
| Review | Reviewed by an editorial board or other experts ("peers") | Reviewed by an editor |
| Audience / Language |
Scholars and students / Academic Technical language |
General public Easy to understand |
| Content |
Original Research |
News and practical information Uses a variety of sources for background |
| Sources | Always cited | Sometimes cited |
| Examples |
Peer-reviewed articles Academic encyclopedias |
Magazine articles |
Let's put our knowledge to the test! For the following exercise, join the group that matches your birthday and complete the exercise.
Group 1 (your birthday is in January, February, March, or April)
Scan the following two resources (you don't need to read them in full).
Consider the following:
Group 2 (your birthday is in May, June, July, or August)
Scan the following two resources (you don't need to read them in full).
Consider the following:
Group 3 (your birthday is in September, October, November, or December)
Scan the following two resources (you don't need to read them in full).
Consider the following:
Dr. Baillargeon has provided a list of possible topics, be aware that a topic such as gender deathscapes is far too broad but can be narrowed by focusing on a particular aspect. Brainstorm possible more potential specifics related to your broad topic and consider the following actions to help you narrow your topic and focus your research:
Do very simple searches and skim the results
For book results, follow the title and have a look at the chapter headings to get ideas
For journal article results, follow the title and read the brief abstract (article summary) provided
Make note of possible ideas and search words as you go
| Tibet: a dead body being broken up with a hammer and knife for throwing to the birds. Photograph, 19 –. A crowd of vultures sit watching in the background. Created 1900?. Dead. Vultures. Funeral rites and ceremonies. Tibet Autonomous Region (China). Work ID: zvy7mukq |
We have millions of e-resources and 221,000 physical resources in our collection, and LibrarySearch searches across those.
Key Tips:
Sign in to save searches and request items.
Use the pin icon to save books and articles for later.
Use filters like Availability, Resource Type, and Date to narrow your search.
Request unavailable items through interlibrary loan.
Access items by scrolling to the Get it or Access options sections.
Do not type sentences into the search box! Only use the key terms you have identified
Helpful Search Operators to Use in LibrarySearch
You can use what are called search operators to search in a way to combine or omit different terms by telling the search engine exactly what you want and this can help you save some time (and frustration!)
" " for phrases: eg. "sky burial"
AND to combine: eg. "sky burial" AND vulture
OR to broaden: eg. "sky burial" OR "air burial"
The MRU Library has 270+ databases to choose from. To help you find the right database for your research, we have highlighted some recommended resources in each discipline. Following are some additional databases used in General Education courses that you could use for a more targeted search:
Digital library of academic journals, ebooks and primary sources. Includes content across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Use the "cite" feature in most search tools to get you started with most resources (you will need to review and correct the citation).
Cite Sources: Learn the correct way to cite sources by using these guides, tutorials, and videos.
Academic Success Workshops: Academic Success Workshops are 75 minutes long and are offered both in-person and online. Registration is required.
Appointments: Personalized online or in-person 30-minute appointments with a Learning Strategist at Student Learning Services located on the 2nd floor of the Riddell Library & Learning Centre.
Use the Service Desk on the 1st floor of the RLLC for assistance as well as the library chat feature on the library website for quick citation questions.
If you have questions about your assignment due dates, submission, or the information you encounter in this assignment contact your Instructor!
Having difficulty finding information (either too much or too little), challenges with databases not working, have questions about citation, or if you are unsure whether the article you have found is scholarly you can book a virtual appointment with your librarian, Kalen Keavey.
If you are looking for help with your writing or a more detailed look at your citations check out Student Learning Services workshops and appointments
