Skip to Main Content
Mount Royal University

Library

Assignment Overview

Assignment Overview

  • Topic: Analyze the representation of death in a non-North American fairytale, folktale, or parable.

  • Essay Type: Analytical (not just summary or regurgitation of class material).

  • Word Count: 750–850 words.

  • Due Date: Sunday, February 23 by 11:59 p.m.

  • Value: 20% of your final grade.

Key Requirements

  • Structure:

    • Introduction with a clear thesis statement.

    • Body paragraphs in TEA format (likely Topic sentence, Evidence, Analysis).

    • Conclusion summarizing key points.

  • Analysis Focus:

    • Apply close reading skills to critically examine how death is represented in the chosen text.

    • Make original, specific, and complex arguments.

    • Avoid plot summary—focus on interpretation and analysis.

Research & Sources

  • No external scholarly sources required beyond your chosen primary text.

  • A library session will be provided to help you find a suitable story.

Evaluating the Credibility of Fairytales, Folktales, or Parables

Identify the Story’s Cultural and Historical Origins

  • Check the source or collection:

    • Is the story included in a well-known folklore anthology?

    • Examples: The Brothers Grimm, Andrew Lang’s Fairy Books, Aesop’s Fables, Italo Calvino’s Italian Folktales.

  • Trace the earliest recorded version:

    • What year or century does the earliest version appear?

    • Was it passed down orally before being written?
Use Folklore Classification Systems

  • Aarne–Thompson–Uther (ATU) Index:

    • A standard classification system for folk narratives based on recurring themes and motifs.

    • Example: Little Red Riding Hood falls under ATU 333 (The Glutton / The Devourer).

    • Students can look up ATU classifications to see if their chosen tale has variants across cultures.

  • Stith Thompson’s Motif-Index of Folk Literature:

    • Organizes recurring folktale elements (e.g., magical transformations, supernatural helpers).

Compare Different Versions of the Story

  • Look for variations across cultures:

    • Does the story appear in multiple traditions (e.g., Cinderella in China, Egypt, and Europe)?

    • How do different cultures retell the same core narrative?

  • Analyze major changes over time:

    • Does the version you found match the older variants?

    • Was it altered in a way that removes cultural or historical context?

Consider the Collector or Translator’s Influence

  • Who documented the story?

    • Early European collectors (Grimm Brothers, Perrault) sometimes sanitized or changed folk stories.

    • Colonial or Western scholars might have altered meanings to fit their audience.

  • Compare translated vs. original versions:

    • Are there modern adaptations that differ from the original?

Verify Source Credibility

Primary vs. Secondary Sources:

  • A primary source would be an old manuscript, oral tradition records, or original folklore books.

  • A secondary source (modern retelling, children’s book) might be useful but should be compared to the original.

Check If the Tale Has Undergone Modern Adaptation

  • Has the tale been commercialized?

    • Disney adaptations often remove darker or culturally specific elements.

  • Compare the literary version vs. oral tradition:

    • Oral storytelling often preserves different details than written versions.

 

Finding Fairytales, Folktales, and Parables in the Library

Library Search Examples

Example Search 1:

To find resources related to children and fairy tales, folktales, or parables, you can use the following search query:

children* ("fairy tales" OR folktales OR parables")

Perform this search in the MRU Library Catalog

Explanation:

  • The asterisk (*) after "children" serves as a wildcard, capturing variations like "child," "children," "childhood," etc.

  • The terms "fairy tales," "folktales," and "parables" are grouped with the OR operator to include any of these genres in your search results.

This search will help you locate books, book chapters, and online resources related to children's fairy tales, folktales, and parables available in the MRU Library collections.

Example Search 2

To explore how death is portrayed in folktales, fairy tales, or parables involving children, use the following search query:

Search Query:
folktales OR "fairy tales" OR parables
AND children*
AND death OR dead OR "the dead" OR dying

Perform this search in the MRU Library Catalog

Explanation:

  • "folktales OR 'fairy tales' OR parables" → Searches for any of these genres.

  • AND "children"* → Ensures results include references to children or childhood.

  • AND "death OR dead OR 'the dead' OR dying" → Expands results to include different ways death is discussed.

Example Search 3

Search fairy tales, folktales, folklore, or parables in children's literature collection.

Search Query:
"fairy tales" OR folklore OR folktales OR parables

Perform this search in the MRU Library Catalog

Narrowing Your Search

  • You can limit results in LibrarySearch by selecting:
    • Children’s Literature Collection → For children’s book versions of fairy tales and folktales.
    • Curriculum Collection → For educational resources and books on storytelling traditions.

Suggested Books

To locate reference books on fairy tales, folklore, and children's literature, try the following search query:

Search Query:
(encyclopedia OR handbook OR collection)
AND ("fairy tales" OR folklore OR folktales OR parables)

Examples

Databases

Online Resources

Librarian

Profile Photo
Erik Christiansen

Contact:
Email: echristiansen@mtroyal.ca
Phone: 403.440.5168
Office: EL4423C
Website