Subject librarian support
Subject librarian support
This guide brings together key resources for learning, teaching, and research in computing. It highlights books, journals, databases, and tools available through MRU Library to support students, instructors, and researchers working in or taking courses related to these subjects.
Student support
How I support students
- Find sources. Get help locating quality materials for assignments, papers, or projects.
- Search smarter. Learn advanced strategies to get better results from library databases.
- Evaluate and cite. Tips for identifying credible sources and citing them accurately.
- Access full text. Assistance tracking down harder-to-find articles or materials.
- Meet one-on-one. Book a research consultation (individual or group) for personalized support.
Have a question or need help? Let’s connect.
I’m here to support your work—whether you're researching, studying, or working on a project.
I’m here to support your work—whether you're researching, studying, or working on a project.
Support for computer science faculty
How I support faculty
- Recommend course materials. Find textbooks, articles, and open educational resources (OER).
- Teach research skills. Plan and deliver library instruction tailored to your course.
- Design assignments. Collaborate on designing or revising research-based assignments.
- Support your research. Get help with advanced search strategies and tools.
- Explore publishing options. Learn about open access and where to publish.
- Advise on open research. Guidance on licensing, data sharing, and ethical practices.
- Build the collection. Recommend new materials or resources for the library to purchase.
- Support student projects. Assist students working on capstone or honours work.
- Using citation tools. Get started with Zotero, Mendeley, or others.
Have a question or idea? Let’s connect.
I’m here to support your work, whether you’re teaching, researching, or mentoring students.
I’m here to support your work, whether you’re teaching, researching, or mentoring students.
Resources to support your scholarly teaching in computing
This section provides starting points for instructors interested in scholarly teaching, using evidence to inform classroom practice, or exploring research in computer science education. Resources are especially relevant for those teaching undergraduate Computer Science, Computer Information Systems, or Data Science courses.
Key journals and conference proceedings
- SIGCSE Technical Symposium Proceedings
Peer-reviewed CS education research and curriculum development from ACM’s Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education. - Journal of Information Systems Education (JISE)
- Computer Science Education (Taylor & Francis)
- ACM Transactions on Computing Education (TOCE)
- Journal of Computing Sciences in Colleges (JCSC)
- Black Issues in Computing Education (BICE)
Web-based collections and teaching tools
- NCWIT Higher Education Resources
Research-based tools for inclusive teaching, student retention, curriculum redesign, and departmental change. - CS Teaching Tips (University of Texas at Austin)
Practical, evidence-based strategies from computing instructors—covers classroom practices, debugging support, and equity-oriented teaching.
Suggested search terms in LibrarySearch
Try the following to find additional literature in LibrarySearch:
Computer Science Librarian
Suggest a purchase
-
Recommend a purchase to the libraryDidn't find what you needed? Recommend a purchase to the library collections team.